Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

In Your Face


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Fishbone: Angelo Moore, Chris Dowd, Walter Kibby II, Norwood Fisher, Kendall Jones, Fish.
  • Additional personnel: Lisa Grant (vocals); Kurt McGettrick (baritone saxophone); Rick Culver (trombone); David Kahne (keyboards, guitars).
  • Engineers: Bill Jackson, Tchad Blake, David Kahne.
  • Recorded at Sunset Sound Factory, Hollywood, California and Ocean Way Recording, Los Angeles, California.
  • All songs written or co-written by members of Fishbone.
  • Personnel: Lisa Grant (vocals); David Kahne (guitar, keyboards); Kurt McGettrick (baritone saxophone); Rick Culver (trombone).
  • Audio Mixers: David Leonard ; Mike Ross.
  • Audio Remasterer: Wally Traugott.
  • Recording information: Ocean Way Recording; Sunset sound Factory.
  • Photographer: John Scarpati.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Fishbone.
  • Fishbone's first full-length release, 1986's In Your Face was a far more focused affair than their self-titled debut EP from 1985, but the band was still honing their original and genre-spanning sound. While it would not be perfected until their 1988 release Truth and Soul, In Your Face remains an important musical stepping stone for Fishbone. Few other bands at the time (perhaps only the Red Hot Chili Peppers) were attempting to merge different musical styles together as they were. Ska, funk, and punk rock are again put into the musical blender this time around, along with often thought-provoking lyrics, resulting in several strong compositions. The opening track "When Problems Arise" is an enjoyable, stomping little ditty for which a rarely aired video clip was filmed, while other highlights include the up-tempo numbers "A Selection" and "Give It Up," the Caribbean-tinged "Cholly," the desperate plea of "I Wish I Had a Date," and the gorgeous ballad "Movement in the Light." Also featured are the funk-workouts "In the Air" and "Knock It," the furious punk-rocker "Simon Says the Kingpin," and the goofy, album-closing instrumental "Post Cold War Politics." ~ Greg Prato
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Punk & Hardcore » Ska
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top