Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

A Trick of the Tail


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • TRICK OF THE TAIL was Genesis' first LP after the departure of Peter Gabriel.
  • Genesis: Phil Collins (vocals, drums, percussion); Steve Hackett (electric & 12-string guitars); Tony Banks (12-string guitar, piano, keyboards); Mike Rutherford (12-string guitar, bass).
  • Engineers: David Hentschel, Nick Haddock Bradford.
  • Recorded at Trident Studios, London, England in October & November 1975.
  • Personnel: Tony Banks (vocals, 12-string guitar, piano, organ, Mellotron, keyboards, synthesizer, background vocals); Phil Collins (vocals, drums, percussion, background vocals); Steve Hackett (guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar); Mike Rutherford (guitar, 12-string guitar).
  • Audio Remasterers: Chris Blair; Geoff Callingham; Nick Davis .
  • Recording information: Tident Studios, London, England (10/1975-11/1975); Trident Studios, London, England (10/1975-11/1975).
  • Arranger: Genesis .
  • This was Genesis' first album following the departure of vocalist Peter Gabriel. After ascending the heights of conceptual progressive rock on the preceding THE LAMB LIES DOWN ON BROADWAY, Genesis was left between a rock and a hard place, trying to define its identity anew. With the odds against them they put in a fine showing on TRICK OF THE TAIL. The general musical mode is similar to that of LAMB--longish songs with well developed structures and arrangements and a straighter rock feel than the band's early work.
  • Lyrically, the band didn't attempt to equal Gabriel's conceptual mastery, choosing instead to tackle discrete subjects on each song; "Squonk" is about a mythical beast, "Entangled" centers around an unpleasant hospital stay. Phil Collins, technically a better vocalist than Gabriel to begin with, steps up admirably as lead singer (he'd already sung lead on a couple of earlier Genesis tunes), but despite the popular myth he didn't take over the band. He receives co-writing credit for only two songs on TRICK OF THE TAIL, an album that's very much a group effort.
Professional Reviews
Q (12/94, pp.162-3) - 3 Stars - Good - "...notable for the title track and the tender ballad `Ripples,' but a momentum was carrying them away from anything like a cutting edge and nearer and nearer to the big bucks..."

Mojo (Publisher) (3/01, p.82) - "...Largely written without thought as to who might sing it....Collins stepped into the breach - despite originally suggesting they proceed as an instrumental act."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top