Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!



Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Laura Branigan (vocals), John Nelson, Michael Landau (guitar), Bob Marlette (guitar, keyboards, drum programming), Mark Leggett (guitar, keyboards), Rick Palombi (keyboards, drum programming, background vocals), John O'Hara (keyboards), Mike Stock (keyboards, Linn programming, background vocals), Matt Aitken (keyboards, Linn programming, guitar), Jeff Lorber (keyboards, drum programming), Carlos Vega, A. Linn (drums), Dee Lewis, Coral Gordon, Sue Shifrin, Dennis Henson, Donna Delory, Mona Young (background vocals).
  • Producers: Stock, Aitken, Waterman (tracks 7-8); David Kerschenbaum.
  • Engineers: David J. Holman, Mark McGuire, John Guess, Cliff Jones, Troy Krueger, David J. Holman.
  • Recorded at Powertrax, Hollywood, California.
  • Personnel: Laura Branigan (vocals, background vocals); Bob Marlette (vocals, guitar, keyboards, drums, programming, drum programming); Michael Landau (vocals, guitar); Matt Aitken (guitar, keyboards, programming); Mark Leggett (guitar, keyboards, drum programming); Matt Aiken (guitar, keyboards); John Nelson (guitar); Kim Scharnberg (strings); Rick Palombi (keyboards, drums, programming, drum programming, background vocals); Jeff Lorber (keyboards, programming, drum programming); Mike Stock (keyboards, programming, background vocals); John O'Hara (keyboards); A. Linn , Carlos Vega (drums); David J. Holman, Andrew Thomas (programming); Dee Lewis, Donna De Lory, Carl Gordon, Dennis Henson, Coral Gordon, Monalisa Young, Sue Shifrin (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Peter Hammond; David J. Holman; Albert Cabrera; Tony Moran.
  • Recording information: Powertrax, Hollywood, CA.
  • Photographer: Victoria Pearson.
  • Arrangers: Rick Palombi; Mark Leggett; Jeff Lorber; Bob Marlette.
  • Laura Branigan's fifth album, Touch, showed signs of maturity as she made a bid (that was not quite successful) for adult contemporary crossover -- a smart chance to take considering the longevity many A/C acts have. Her big, boomy voice is perfect for some of the moody ballads on this collection, such as "Over Love," "Meaning of the Word," and "Spirit of Love," but there are so many of those successfully evocative cuts that the dance songs don't fit as seamlessly as they should. That's not to say the upbeat tracks are not in good shape: The lead single, "Shattered Glass" (produced by Stock, Aitken, Waterman, who produced successful Bananarama and Kylie Minogue singles in the same period), and "Angels Calling" stand out; you can hardly hold back from caroling along. Synthesizer-heavy throughout, on both the slow and fast songs, the strings on the yearning "Cry Wolf" near the end of the album are welcome. The lyrics on many of the cuts are poetic and adult, making this atmospheric collection the best product she'd released so far; the material is far better suited to her voice -- which has never sounded better -- than the Europop she recorded prior to this. "The Power of Love" exhibits the weight she can convey in a whisper, while also giving her something to really sink her teeth into. Her voice being her strongest asset, Branigan never received the direction Celine Dion did, so she never achieved the same massive success, though her voice is equal in terms of power, beauty, and distinction. ~ Bryan Buss
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top