Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Thick As A Brick


Album: Thick As A Brick
# Song Title   Time
1)    Thick As a Brick (Part 1) (2012 Remix) More Info... 0:22
2)    Thick As a Brick (Part 2) (2012 Remix) More Info... 0:21
Album: Thick As A Brick
# Song Title   Time
1)    Thick As a Brick (Part 1) (2012 Remix) More Info... 0:22
2)    Thick As a Brick (Part 2) (2012 Remix) More Info... 0:21
Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • This special limited edition release of THICK AS A BRICK - 25TH ANNIVERSARY contains one previously unreleased live track and interviews with Ian Anderson, Martin Barre and Jeffrey Hammond.
  • Jethro Tull: Ian Anderson (vocals, flute, guitar, violin, saxophone, trumpet); Martin Barre (guitar, lute); John Evan (organ, piano, harpsichord); Jeffrey Hammond-Hammond (bass); Barriemore Barlow (tympani, percussion).
  • Recorded at Morgan Studios, London, England.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel: Ian Anderson (vocals, acoustic guitar, violin, flute, saxophone, trumpet); Jeffrey Hammond-Hammond (vocals, bass guitar); Martin Barre (electric guitar, lute); John Evan (piano, harpsichord, organ); Barriemore Barlow (drums, timpani, percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Steven Wilson.
  • Audio Remixer: Steven Wilson.
  • Liner Note Authors: Robin Black ; Dom Lawson.
  • Recording information: Morgan Studios.
  • Photographers: Robert Ellis ; Didi Zill.
  • Arranger: Jethro Tull.
  • While never as high-minded or technically facile as the likes of Yes or ELP, Tull began incorporating complex time changes, sophisticated harmonic structures and highly developed lyrical themes on THICK AS A BRICK, the realization of the artistic growth begun on AQUALUNG. It's here that Tull finally bursts into full-blown prog-rock mode. While AQUALUNG was a group of discrete compositions united by a theme, THICK AS A BRICK consists of one extended piece that occupies the length of the album.
  • Lyrically, Anderson's intentions are a bit more obscure here, but the sophisticated arrangements and virtuosic performances are enough to carry the show. John Evan's piano and organ are at the heart of this complex piece, which moves through an endless succession of tempos, moods and modes in a manner similar to vintage Genesis or the aforementioned Yes, but with a grittier edge. Most importantly, the whole things flows in a cohesive manner. THICK AS A BRICK demands close attention, but rewards the same handsomely.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (6/22/72, p.54) - "...their music spins a delicate web of sensitive sounds: sometimes lilting, sometimes soaring to form a brilliant backdrop for the meaningful lyrics and improvisational techniques..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he band would never again sound so ambitious and alive....There's an honesty, charm and fantastic energy to THICK AS A BRICK that the passage of time simply can't erode."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top