Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Terra Brasilis


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Antonio Carlos Jobim (keyboards, vocals); Claus Ogerman (arranger, conductor); Oscar Castro-Neves, Bucky Pizzarelli, Vinnie Bell (guitar); Bob Cranshaw, Mike Moore (bass); Pascoal De Souza Meirelles, Grady Tate (drums); Rubens Bassini (percussion); Ana Jobim (background vocals).
  • Recorded at RCA Recording Studios, New York, New York. Includes liner notes by Bob Blumenthal.
  • Personnel: Ant?nio Carlos Jobim (vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards); Bucky Pizzarelli (guitar); Grady Tate, Pascoal Meirelles (drums); Rubens Bassini (percussion).
  • Liner Note Author: Bob Blumenthal.
  • Recording information: RCA Recording Studios, New York, NY.
  • Arranger: Claus Ogerman.
  • Antonio Carlos Jobim fans are very much split on the topic of arranger Claus Ogerman. They tend to either love the albums Ogerman did with Jobim--TIDE and WAVE are the best-known--or dismiss them outright as over-orchestrated near-easy-listening tripe. Released in 1980, the double album-length TERRA BRASILIS is the last of the Jobim-Ogerman collaborations, but it's just as controversial as the earlier ones. The 20 tracks, taken from all eras of Jobim's career going right back to the BLACK ORPHEUS days, are given Ogerman's usual heavy orchestral style, with Jobim playing piano and singing in front of Ogerman's swooping, lush arrangements. None of these are the definitive versions of these songs--even tracks Ogerman had previously arranged, like 1967's "Wave," sound a bit denser now--but fans of Ogerman's sometimes over the top arranging style will find much to enjoy here.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top