Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Sound Museum


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • SOUND MUSEUM is an Enhanced CD containing both a full audio program as well as multimedia computer files, including a screen saver.
  • Personnel includes: Towa Tei (drum & keyboard programming, hand claps); Adriano Kaegi, Michele Chiossi, Rokiatou Keita, Fernando Aponte (vocals); C. Boogie Brown (rap vocals); Jemi Taylor (guitar); Haroumi Hosono (electric sitar, marimba); Josh Roseman (trombone); Terry Burrus (piano, Fender Rhodes); Miyoko Yamazaki (marimba); Gene Perez (bass); Yoshiaki Ochi (bells, percussion); Toshihiko Mori (keyboard & drum programming); Ken Nordine, Chisato Moritaka (sampling); Bebel Gilberto, Kelly Price (background vocals); Viv, Amel, Biz Markie, Mos Def, Yavahn, Akiko Yano, Kylie Minogue.
  • Black Bottom Horns: Iggy (tenor saxophone); Monky (baritone saxophone); Mitch, Koo (trumpet); Yassy (trombone).
  • Engineers: Fernando Aponte, SP-1200 Productions, Hirodhi Haraguchi, Takashi Watanabe, Tadashi Matsuda, Kaz Miyazaki
  • Personnel: Towa Tei (vocals, hand claps, keyboard programming, drum programming); Kylie Minogue, Vivian Sessoms (vocals); C. Boogie Brown (rap vocals); Jemi Taylor (electric guitar); Hiroshi Takano (electric sitar); Yasuaki Shimizu (strings, saxophone); Paul Shapiro (flute); Iggy (tenor saxophone); Mitch (trumpet); Yassy, Josh Roseman (trombone); Hideki Matsutake, Takeshi Fujii (synthesizer); Miyoko Yamazaki, Harry "Haruomi" Hosono (marimba); Tirta Sari (gamelan); Tatsuhiko Mori (keyboard programming, drum programming).
  • Audio Mixers: Fernando Aponte; Tatsuhiko Mori; Ayumi Obinata; Towa Tei; Bob Brockman.
  • Recording information: Chung King, New York, NY; Free Studio; Heart Beat Recording Studio; Planet Kingdom; Right Track, New York, NY; Sou; VU Studio.
  • Editors: Tatsuhiko Mori; Towa Tei.
  • Photographer: Patrik Andersson.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Hideki Matsutake; Harry "Haruomi" Hosono; Boogie Brown; E.J. Rodriguez; Kelly Price; Kylie Minogue; Bebel Gilberto; Ken Nordine; Biz Markie.
  • Arrangers: Tatsuhiko Mori; Takeo Sasada; Towa Tei.
  • Not many producers could juggle vocal tracks by Kylie Minogue and Biz Markie, plus a bossa nova cover of Hall & Oates' "Private Eyes," but Towa Tei does an excellent job of uniting a disparate mix of club-centric grooves. There are several highlights, but none better than Biz Markie's sprightly, infectious "BMT." ~ John Bush
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (3/5/98, p.70) - 3.5 Stars (out of 5) - "...[mixes] international sounds into his light, delicate style of headphone techno....SOUND MUSEUM offers a slick flow of samba, robotic disco, jazz fusion and a dash of hip-hop..."

Entertainment Weekly (2/20-2/27/98, p.116) - "The second solo joint from Deee-Lite's former DJ showcases the same bounce and song sense that made the group's `Groove Is In The Heart' irresistible. Jazzy hip-hop, fizzy house, even Indonesian gamelan inform the mix..." - Rating: A-

Musician (5/98, pp.88-89) - "...Towa dabbles with a range of styles--from old school hip-hop and bossa-nova to contemporary R&B and house....he holds it together with subtle, funky grooves and lush production..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top