Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Soul of a Bell [Bonus Tracks]


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: William Bell (vocals); Steve Cropper (guitar); Booker T. Jones, Isaac Hayes (keyboards); Donald "Duck" Dunn (bass); Al Jackson, Jr. (drums); The Memphis Horns.
  • Producers: Booker T. Jones, Jim Stewart.
  • Recorded in 1966 & 1967. Includes liner notes by Rob Bowman.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel: William Bell (vocals); Steve Cropper (guitar); Joe Arnold (alto saxophone); Andrew Love (tenor saxophone); Wayne Jackson (trumpet); Booker T. Jones III, Isaac Hayes (keyboards); Al Jackson, Jr. (drums).
  • Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
  • Recording information: 1960S.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Jim Stewart .
  • This CD is a classic example of '60s Southern soul. William Bell isn't quite as gritty as his pal Otis Redding; he's primarily a gospel crooner, although he's more than convincing in Redding-style songs such as "Never Been Like This Before," "You're Such a Sweet Thing," and "I've Been Loving You Too Long."
  • "Everybody Loves a Winner," the album's big hit, is an all-but-perfect mix of soul and country (check out the faux Floyd Cramer piano part), and the same could be said about the now-classic "You Don't Miss Your Water." Meanwhile, Bell's vocals throughout are extraordinarily intense, particularly on a spine-tingling cover of Toussaint McCall's "Nothing Takes the Place of You."
Professional Reviews
Q (12/02, p.120) - 3 out of 5 - "...It's a gritty-sweet mix of gospel, soul and country as downhome as grits and cornbread..."

Living Blues (9-10/02, p.80) - "...Bell was a masterful balladeer, and the set reflects that strength with gorgeous covers...alongside Bell's own spine-chillers..."

Mojo (Publisher) (12/02, p.130) - "...Bell's songwriting shines throughout the album..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
Home » Music » Funk & Soul » Soul
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top