Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Singles Collection


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Alphaville: Marian Gold, Bernhard Lloyd, Ricky Echolette.
  • Additional personnel: Phil Palmer, Jimmy Ripp (guitar); Phil Todd (saxophone); Guy Barker, Stuart Brooks (trumpet); Neil Sidwell (trombone); Wolgang Loos (keyboards, programming); Dave Lebold, Robin Smith (keyboards); Ken Taylor, Andy Brown (bass); Curt Cress, Roger Linn (drums); Frank Rigotti, Jimmy Maelen (percussion); Gulf Stream, The Rosie Singers, Judy Cheeks, Victoria Miles, Wednesday, Michael Barbiero (background vocals).
  • Producers include: Colin Pearson, Wolfgang Loos, Peter Walsh, Andreas Budde,
  • Steve Thompson.
  • Engineers include: Wolfgang Loos, Stephen Chase, Steve Thompson.
  • Recorded at Studio 54, Berlin, Germany in 1984; Weryton Studio, Munich, Germany; The Manor, Oxford, England; Media Sound Studios, New York, New York. Includes liner notes by Sean Ross and Yvonne Olsen.
  • Named after Godard's 1959 science-fiction masterpiece and heavily influenced by '80s synth bands like Depeche Mode, Alphaville was the Munich-based trio of Marian Gold, Bernhard Lloyd and Frank Mertens. Following their all-keyboards approach longer after synth-pop was fashionable but unfortunately disbanding before artists such as Mouse On Mars made Germanic synthesizer music hip again in the late '90s, Alphaville remained rather outside of musical trends during their mid-'80s lifespan.
  • THE SINGLES COLLECTION includes the band's highest point, the brooding and atmospheric "Big In Japan." Also featured are a number of other excellent singles, including "Forever Young," "The Jet Set" and "Dance With Me." This set is perhaps the best starting point for the band, as well as a handy sampler for longtime fans.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » New Romantic
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top