Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

In Pieces

Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!

Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Garth Brooks (vocals); Chris Leuzinger (acoustic & electric guitars); Ty England (acoustic guitar, background vocals); Mark Casstevens (acoustic guitar); Steve McClure (electric & steel guitars); Bruce Bouton (steel guitar); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Rob Hajacos (fiddle); Terry McMillan (harmonica); Jim Horn (saxophone); Bobby Wood (piano, keyboards); Bobby Emmons (Hammond B-3 organ); Mike Chapman, Roy Huskey, Jr. (bass); Milton Sledge, Mike Palmer (drums, percussion); Ferrell Morris, Sam Bacco (percussion); Helen Darling, Kathy Chiavola, Trisha Yearwood (background vocals).
  • New Grass Revival: Pat Flynn (acoustic guitar); Bela Fleck (banjo); Sam Bush (mandolin, fiddle, background vocals); John Cowan (background vocals).
  • Recorded at Jack's Tracks Recording Studio, Nashville, Tennessee.
  • Digitally remastered by Denny Purcell (Georgetown Masters, Nashville, Tennessee).
  • On his sixth album, IN PIECES, THE superstar of country music is poised once again to break all sales records. Culling from the style of his idol Billy Joel as much as any country influence, Brooks delves further into the mix of high drama and low places of country pop. Country pedigree aside, Brooks is the quintessential pop star.
  • IN PIECES refers to the random way Brooks collected the songs for the album, but the album is in no way a misguided effort. It is a seamless collection. Most artists are lucky if there is one blockbuster on an album; IN PIECES has several: "The Night I Called The Old Man Out," "Standing Outside The Fire," and the 4 1/2 minute epic "Ain't Goin' Down ('Til The Sun Comes Up)." The bluesy "Kickin' And Screamin'" is a left-of-center departure, a la Lyle Lovett. "The Red Strokes" effectively utilizes art as metaphor for romance and serves as one of Brooks' best recordings in a discography including numerous gems. He displays his talent for singing, not posturing or grandstanding.
  • Garth switches to Cajun spice for "Callin' Baton Rouge" and returns to his roots and spurs for "The Cowboy Song." A murder witnessed by illicit lovers sparks the percussion-heavy "Night Will Only Know." On several songs, Brooks is joined by Trisha Yearwood's harmonies.
  • With all the pieces added together Garth has, once again, created an album of substance.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (10/14/93, p.114) - 3 Stars - Good - "...IN PIECES glides from rock and swing to MOR ballads and cowboy fare, it proves again that today's country music is virtually anything Garth chooses to call country...."

Musician (11/93, p.88) - "...Brooks mostly abandons the pop-oriented experimentation of his last couple albums for by-the-book contemporary country material...song for song this his strongest album since NO FENCES...."

NME (Magazine) (2/5/94, p.39) - 6 - Good - "...all sturdy, value-for-money songwriting..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top