Free Shipping to Singapore

Singapore's Best Prices on the Biggest Range of Products

Out to Sea

Album: Out to Sea
# Song Title   Time
1)    Out to Sea
2)    Dublin Bay
3)    Carsten
4)    Welfare Wednesday
5)    Cain's Blood
6)    August 6th and 9th
7)    Tryin' Times
8)    James Medley, The
9)    Beguiling Eyes
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Stephen Fearing, Connie Kaldor (vocals).
  • Personnel: Stephen Fearing (vocals, guitar, percussion); Connie Kaldor, John Mann (vocals); Rob Menzies (tin whistle, bagpipe); Geoff Kelly (tin whistle); Patric Caird (saxophone).
  • Recording information: 1988.
  • After recording two cassettes with the Fearing-Hunter-Wake Band and self-releasing one cassette-only album entitled Stephen Fearing, Fearing recorded and released Out to Sea in 1988 for Vancouver's Aural Tradition label. One of his best and most consistent albums to date, it was also the album that broke him out of the local Vancouver folk scene. The songs were written over a period of six or seven years in the 1980s, so by the time of their recording on Out to Sea, they had been polished to perfection. The music is very creative throughout, incorporating tasteful percussion, saxophone, and even traditional Gaelic pipes and tin whistles on "Dublin Bay." "Carsten" is a haunting showcase for his already formidable acoustic guitar skills, as is "The James Medley." The closing track, "Beguiling Eyes," is a highlight of the album, as Fearing incorporates part of Joni Mitchell's "Both Sides Now" into an aching story of unrequited love. An exciting singer/songwriter guitarist release, and one of the finest of that genre. ~ Rob Caldwell
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk » General
People also searched for
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top