Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Out of Order


Product Description
Product Details


1. Lost In You

2. The Wild Horses

3. Lethal Dose Of Love

4. Forever Young

5. My Heart Can't Tell Me No

6. Dynamite

7. Nobody Knows You When...

8. Crazy About Her

9. Try A Little Tenderness

10. When I Was Your Man

11. Almost Illegal

Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Rod Stewart (vocals); Andy Taylor, Jim Cregan, Michael Landau (guitar); David Lindley (mandolin); Lenny Pickett (saxophone); Billy Payne (piano); Kevin Savigar (keyboards); Bob Glaub, Bernard Edwards (bass); Tony Thompson (drums); Bobbye Hall (percussion).
  • Producers: Andy Taylor, Bernard Edwards, Rod Stewart.
  • Recorded at Record Plant Studios, and Ocean Way Studios, Los Angeles, California.
  • Personnel: Rod Stewart (vocals); Jim Cregan (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar); Tony Brock (vocals, drums, drum programming); Robert Sheen, Rita Johnson, Lyn Collins (vocals, background vocals); Kelly Emberg, K.E. (vocals); Eddie Martinez, Michael Landau, Andy Taylor (guitar); David Lindley (slide guitar, mandolin, violin, fiddle); Bruce Miller (strings); Kevin Savigar (saxophone, keyboards); Jim Roberts , Jimmy Roberts, Lenny Pickett , David Woodford (saxophone); Earl Gardner (horns); Bill Payne (piano); William D. "Smitty" Smith (organ); Duane Hitchings (keyboards); Tony Thompson (drums); Bobbye Hall (percussion).
  • Audio Mixers: Steve MacMillan; Bernard Edwards.
  • Recording information: Ocean Way Studios, CA; The Record Plant Studios, Los Angeles; The Record Plant Studios, Los Angeles, CA.
  • Photographers: Randee St. Nicholas; Randee Saint Nicholas.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Rod Stewart.
  • Arranger: Bruce Miller.
  • OUT OF ORDER not only marked Rod Stewart's collaboration with half of Power Station (Duran Duran guitarist Andy Taylor and Chic bassist Bernard Edwards), but also the bawdy Scot's return to a slightly more organic sound after drowning his previous record CAMOUFLAGE in synthesizers. Enlisting multi-instrumentalist David Lindley meant the return of the trademark mandolin associated with Stewart's sound, on songs such as "Lost In You" and "Forever Young" (both of which were the only Top 20 hits on this album).
  • Teeny-bopper reputation aside, Taylor's guitar playing provides a worthy foil for Stewart on the punchy "Dynamite" and the sanctified build-up on which "The Wild Horse" eventually rides out. Being an '80s album, some slick production does come up particularly on an unrecognizable reading of the old chestnut "Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out" and a strings-caressed version of "Try A Little Tenderness."
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - 3 Stars - Good
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top