Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Otis Redding Dictionary Of Soul : Complete & Unbelievable


Product Description
Product Details


1. FA FA FA FA FA (Sad Song)

2. I'm Sick Y'all

3. Tennessee Waltz

4. My Sweet Lorene

5. Try A Little Tenderness

6. Day Tripper

7. My Lover's Prayer

8. She Put The Hurt On Me

9. Ton Of Joy

10. You're Still My Baby

11. Hawg For You

12. Love Have Mercy

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Otis Redding (vocals); Steve Cropper (guitar); Andrew Love, Joe Arnold (tenor saxophone); Floyd Newman (baritone saxophone); Wayne Jackson (trumpet); Booker T. Jones (keyboards, vibraphone, bass); Isaac Hayes (keyboards); Donald "Duck" Dunn (bass); Al Jackson, Jr. (drums).
  • Recorded in Memphis, Tennessee between May and September, 1966. Originally released on Volt (415).
  • Digitally remastered by Bill Inglot and Dan Hersch (DigiPrep).
  • Personnel: Otis Redding (vocals); Steve Cropper (guitar); Joe Arnold, Andrew Love (tenor saxophone); Floyd Newman (baritone saxophone); Wayne Jackson (trumpet); Booker T. Jones (keyboards, vibraphone); Isaac Hayes (keyboards); Al Jackson, Jr. (drums).
  • Recording information: Memphis, TN (05/1966-09/1966).
  • Soul giant Otis Redding crossed over into the pop charts with a version of the Temptations' "My Girl." This album followed that achievement and showed him bringing a wider perspective to R&B. Working in tandem with guitarist Steve Cropper, Redding tore up the blueprints of Beatles songs and standards, making them as much his own as the original songs the pair contributed. Never a subtle singer, Otis possessed a raw intensity, charging the material through the force of his personality. DICTIONARY OF SOUL was the last album issued before the singer's untimely death, the artistic challenges it posed were sadly left unrealized.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (4/11/02, p.106) - Ranked #18 in Rolling Stone's "50 Coolest Records" - "...Memphis soul taking over the world..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Reggae » General
Home » Music » R&B » General
Home » Music » Funk & Soul » Soul
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top