Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!



Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • OLE is a previously unreleased album recorded in in 1989.
  • Personnel: Tonio K. (acoustic guitar, vocals); T. Bone Burnett (acoustic & electric guitars, Chaimberlin); David Hidalgo (guitar, mandolo, background vocals); Paul Westerberg, Charlie Sexton, Jack Sherman, Warner Hodges (guitar); John Keller (electric & acoustic guitars, background vocals); Marc Ribot, Rusty Anderson (electric guitar); Peter Case (harmonica, background vocals); Booker T. Jones (Hammond organ); David Miner (acoustic & electric basses, piano, percussion); Bruce Thomas (electric bass); David Raven, Mickey Curry (drums); Ralph Forbes (drum programming); Steven Soles (background vocals).
  • Includes liner notes by Tonio K.
  • Personnel: Tonio K. (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar); David Hidalgo (vocals, guitar); Jack Sherman, Paul Westerberg, Warner Hodges, Charlie Sexton (guitar); T-Bone Burnett (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, chamberlin); John Keller (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, background vocals); Marc Ribot, Rusty Anderson (electric guitar); Peter Case (harmonica, background vocals); David Miner (piano, electric bass, percussion); Bruce Thomas (electric bass); Mickey Curry, David Raven (drums); Ralph Forbes (drum programming); Steven Soles (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Jim Scott .
  • Liner Note Author: Tonio K.
  • Recording information: A&M Studios, Hollywood, CA; Ocean Way Recording; Sunset sound Factory.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: John Frankenheimer.
  • Tonio K's fifth full-length album was originally slated to be released in 1990 on the heels of Notes From the Lost Civilization, thus completing his trio of comeback recordings. Due to the inherent nature of corporate restructuring, however, this project was canned by A&M only to see the light of day seven years later courtesy of Gadfly Records. This album, while being denied a final mix due to financial and political constraints, continues stylistically in the vein of Notes From the Lost Civilization. Tonio K's patented form of intelligent funky roots rock and commentary-laced ballads is complemented greatly by a stellar cast of musicians like Peter Case, T Bone Burnett, Booker T. Jones, Bruce Thomas, David Hidalgo, Paul Westerberg, and Charlie Sexton. Co-produced by Burnett and David Miner Ol‚ contains several intense and substantive songs like "Hey Lady," "Day and Night," (co-written with Burnett) and the caustic "What a Way to Live" which revisits his ornery heyday as a burgeoning voice of unreason. ~ Dave Sleger
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (10/10/97, p.92) - "A&M shelved this during a guard changing in 1990; now unearthed, the T-Bone Burnett-coproduced OLE proves a career high for K. and is arguably better than anything A&M's put out these last several years..." - Rating: A
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » New Wave
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top