Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

A Musical Romance


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Billie Holiday (vocals); Lester Young (alto & tenor saxophones); Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone); Roy Eldridge, Doc Cheatham,
  • Buck Clayton, Harry Edison (trumpet); Benny Goodman (clarinet); Teddy Wilson (piano); Freddie Green (guitar); Walter Page (bass); Jo Jones, Cozy Cole (drums).
  • Producers include: John Hammond, Bernie Hanighen, Irving Townsend.
  • Compilation producer: Jeff Rosen.
  • Recorded between 1937 & 1958. Includes liner notes by Tom Piazza.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • A Musical Romance gathers some of the most romantic songs Billie Holiday recorded with Lester Young, including "The Man I Love," "Time on My Hands (You in My Arms)," "I Must Have That Man," and "Who Wants Love?" Essentially a collection of some of the love songs featured on the excellent Lady Day: The Complete Billie Holiday on Columbia (1933 - 1944) box set, A Musical Romance offers a more focused -- and, arguably, easily digested -- way to explore the romantic side of her music. Though much of her work dealt with love won and lost, her collaborations with Young are especially lively and alluring, "He's Funny That Way," "A Sailboat in the Moonlight," and "Back in Your Own Backyard" chief among them. A charming and concise collection, A Fine Romance presents some of the very best moments from Holiday and Young's time together. ~ Heather Phares
Professional Reviews
Uncut (11/02, p.138) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Two remarkable artists fired up with optimism..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top