Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!



Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Martika (vocals, percussion), Don Kirkpatrick, David Macias, Mark Leggett (guitars), Michael Mattioli (saxophone), Mitch Kaplan, Claude Gaudette, Greg Smith (keyboards), Brad Cole (keyboards, synthesizer), Marvin Morrow (keyboards, drum programming), Marc Jones (bass), Omar Martinez (drums), Paulinho Da Costa (percussion), Michael Jay (drum programming), Rahsaan Patterson, Donna DeLory, Rick Jude Palombi, Mona Lisa Young, Sue Sheridan, Mendy Lee, Laura Creamer, Stacy Ferguson, Marlen Landin, Kimberly McCullough, Devyn Puett, Renee Sands, Alitzah Wiener, Miki Harris, Clif Magness, Davey Faragher, Michael Cruz (background vocals).
  • Recorded at Trax Recording Studio, Hollywood, California in April and May, 1988.
  • Personnel: Martika (shaker, percussion, background vocals); Russ Iadevaia (vocals); Donald Kirkpatrick, Mark Leggett, David Macias (guitar); Michael Mattioli (saxophone); Claude Gaudette, Marvin Morrow (keyboards, drum programming); Mitch Kaplan, Greg Smith , Brad Cole (keyboards); Omar Martinez (drums); Paulinho Da Costa (percussion); Michael Jay (programming, drum programming, background vocals); Christopher Ainsworth (drum programming); Clif Magness, Davey Faragher, Devyn Puett, Rick Jude Paldmbi, Donna De Lory, Rick Palombi, Marlen Landin, Nikki Harris, Michael Crua, Renee Sands, Menoy Lee, Mendy Lee, Stacy Ferguson, Alitzah Wiener, Sue Sheridan, Kimberly McCulllough, Laura Creamer, Monalisa Young, Rahsaan Patterson (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Keith "KC" Cohen; Michael McDonald ; Brian Malouf.
  • Recording information: Trax Recording Studio, Hollywood, CA (04/1988-05/1988).
  • Photographer: Alberto Tolot.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Michael Cruz.
  • Arrangers: Claude Gaudette; Greg Smith ; Martika; Marvin Morrow; Michael Jay; Brad Cole .
  • Not just the Madonna wannabe she is often remembered as, Martika had songwriting skills and enough savvy to choose some of the best hooks of the '80s for her debut album. You'll find yourself singing these songs months after you've heard them. And that's a good thing. Her voice is thin and a bit limited, but she surrounds herself with producers who understand how to put a sheen on a great pop gem. The catchiest song is also the dumbest; "If You're Tarzan, I'm Jane," about a girl willing to adapt to anything her man wants her to be, is somewhat sexist, but it's such fun it's hard to not sing along. The big hit single, "Toy Soldiers," works with its childlike vocals and lyrics, creating a haunting, effective dichotomy with its subject of drug addiction. Martika even has the chutzpah to cover a Carole King song -- "I Feel the Earth Move" -- and actually does it justice. Producer Michael Jay -- writer or co-writer of "Toy Soldiers," "If You're Tarzan, I'm Jane," "More Than You Know," "Cross My Heart," "You Got Me Into This," "It's Not What You're Doing," and "See If I Care" -- shows he has the ear of an amazing pop artist la Bernie Taupin. The melodies and productions make this album a major success, but if pop isn't your thing, you might not care that these are hooks many superstars would kill for. ~ Bryan Buss
Professional Reviews
Q - 3 Stars - Good
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top