Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

J.D. Crowe & The New South


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: J.D. Crowe (vocals, banjo); Tony Rice (vocals, guitar); Ricky Skaggs (vocals, mandolin, fiddle, viola); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Bobby Slone (bass).
  • Personnel: J.D. Crowe (vocals, baritone, banjo); Tony Rice (vocals, guitar); Ricky Skaggs (tenor, mandolin, violin, fiddle, viola, background vocals); Jerry Douglas (guitar, dobro).
  • Liner Note Authors: Jack Tottle; John Hartford.
  • J.D. Crowe & the New South's eponymous debut album is one of the most influential and pioneering records in the history of bluegrass. For the first edition of the New South, Crowe assembled a stellar group of musicians -- including Ricky Skaggs (fiddle, mandolin, vocals), Tony Rice (lead vocals, guitar), and Jerry Douglas (dobro) -- and gave them each equal weight. Consequently, this is vibrant collaborative music, not just a leader with some faceless studio hacks. Furthermore, Crowe pushed the music in new direction with his section of material, taking songs from contemporary singer/songwriters like Gordon Lightfoot, adding a couple of originals, as well as standards. With such an eclectic selection of songs, plus the band's trailblazing instrumental style, The New South did indeed offer a new kind of bluegrass and its impact could still be felt years after its release. ~ Thom Owens
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top