Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Idiot Savants


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Durutti Column: Poppy Roberts (vocals); Vini Reilly (guitar); Bruce Mitchell (drums).
  • Issued in 2007, IDIOT SAVANTS presents another intriguing installment in the impressive catalogue of the Durutti Column, aka Manchester, England-based guitar hero Vini Reilly and friends. One of the first acts on the revered Factory label, along with Joy Division and A Certain Ratio, DC nods to its minimalist post-punk beginnings (see the feedback-drenched "2 Times Nice"), while also revealing Reilly's classical and flamenco leanings on the delicate extended solo piece "Please Let Me Sleep." Assisted on some tracks by frequent drummer Bruce Mitchell, vocalist Poppy Roberts, and producer Keir Stewart, Reilly has created yet another album of low-key splendor that fully showcases his resonant and dynamic six-string work.
Professional Reviews
Q (p.97) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Reilly is on magisterial form; Poppy Roberts is the vocal foil he's always needed, while 'Gathering Dust' exudes serenity."

Uncut (p.88) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "These songs announce themselves gently, but become insidiously insistent."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top