Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Honeydrippers, Vol.1


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Honey Drippers include: Robert Plant (vocals); Jimmy Page, Jeff Beck, Brian Setzer (guitar); Paul Schaffer (keyboards); Tony Thompson (drums).
  • Producers: Nugetre, The Fabulous Brill Brothers.
  • In 1984, with Led Zeppelin no longer a going concern, Robert Plant and Jimmy Page found themselves with time on their hands. The result was THE HONEYDRIPPERS, a five-song mini album of old R&B covers featuring backing by Jeff Beck, ex-Stray Cat Brian Setzer, and Chic bassist Nile Rogers. The name was lifted from jump blues stalwart Joe Liggins, whose "The Honeydripper" was a big hit in 1945.
  • A one-off studio project (the Volume 1 tag has turned out to be a bit of a tease) THE HONEYDRIPPERS delivers a hit single in the atmospheric version of Phil Phillips' "Sea of Love." Also noteworthy here are faithful recreations of standards by Ray Charles ("I Got a Woman") and Roy Brown ("Good Rockin' at Midnight"). This is basically slight stuff (and with a running time of 18 minutes, it's over before you know it) but the old lemon squeezers are definitely having a heartfelt, infectious good time.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top