Free Shipping to Singapore

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Harder Road to Travel

Album: Harder Road to Travel: Collection
# Song Title   Time
1)    I'm Sorry
2)    Hurricane Hatty
3)    Miss Jamaica
4)    I'm Free
5)    My Lucky Day
6)    King of Kings
7)    Man [aka Man to Man], The
8)    Miss Universe
9)    One Eyed Jacks
10)    You're the One I Need
11)    Hey Boy, Hey Girl
12)    Pride and Passion
13)    Aim and Ambition
14)    Give a Little Take a Little [aka Give and Take]
15)    I've Got a Feeling (And I Can't Stop)
16)    That's the Way Life Goes
17)    Set Me Free
18)    Waterfall
19)    Reward, The
20)    Hard Road to Travel
1)    Wonderful World, Beautiful People
2)    Vietnam
3)    She Does It Right
4)    Sufferin' in the Land
5)    Come into My Life
6)    Time Will Tell
7)    Many Rivers to Cross
8)    You Can Get It If You Really Want
9)    Little Bit of Soap, A - (previously unreleased)
10)    Let Your Yeah Be Yeah
11)    Wild World
12)    Synthetic World
13)    Goodbye Yesterday
14)    Bigger They Come, the Harder They Fall, The
15)    Sitting in Limbo
16)    Those Good Old Days
17)    Pack Up Hang Ups
18)    Bongo Man (A Come)
19)    Struggling Man
20)    Harder They Come, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Laurence Cane-Honeysett.
  • Jimmy Cliff paved the way for Bob Marley in the late '60s and early '70s with a string of classic early reggae tracks that blended the rough, funky production feel of Jamaica's Kingston studios with a sharp pop sense that allowed Cliff to gain an international reputation. This two-disc set collects his earlier ska efforts (on disc one) with his breakthrough rocksteady hits (on disc two) to give a pretty measured survey of his work and appeal. The earlier disc (which covers the years 1960 to early 1969) features duets with Millie Small ("Hey Boy, Hey Girl") and Jackie Edwards ("Set Me Free"), but it's the second disc (covering mid-1969 through 1972) that shows Cliff at his creative peak with cuts like "Wonderful World, Beautiful People," "Vietnam," "Many Rivers to Cross," "Wild World" (written and produced by Cat Stevens, who later took his own version of this song into the charts), "Sitting in Limbo," "The Harder They Come," and "Bongo Man," among others. The end result is a compelling portrait of Jamaica's first real international pop star. ~ Steve Leggett
Professional Reviews
Record Collector (magazine) (p.81) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Infectious UK-recorded soul dance tunes the likes of 'Give & Take' an 'I've Got The Feeling' show Jimmy maturing as an artist..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Reggae » Rock Steady
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top