Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Fortune Cookies


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • This is a Hyper CD, which contains regular audio tracks and also provides a link to the artist's website with the help of a web browser.
  • Contains an untitled hidden track after "Easy To Love".
  • Personnel includes: Alana Davis (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Ed Tuton (guitar, Fender Rhodes piano, programming); Adam Rogers, Chris Bruce, Mark Anthony Jones, Singh Birdsong, Craig Ross (guitar); Gregor Kitzis, Laura Seaton (violin); Martha Mooke, Ron Lawrence (viola); Garo Yellin, Mary Wooten (cello); Dinky Bingham (Hammond B-3 organ); Garry Hughes, Pharrell Williams (keyboards, programming); Brian Cassier (acoustic bass); Jack Daley (bass); Nir Z (drums); Bashiri Johnson, Daniel Sadownick (percussion); Steve Sidelnyk (programming); Roc Raida (vinyl scratches).
  • Producers include: Ed Tuton, Alana Davis, Josh Deutsch, The Neptunes.
  • Engineers include: Ed Tuton, Vaughn Merrick, Brian Garten.
  • Principally recorded at The Magic Shop, Penthouse, Right Track Studios, New York, New York.
  • All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.
  • Personnel: Alana Davis (guitar); Ed Tuton (guitar, programming); Adam Rodgers (guitar); Nir "Z" Zidkyahu (drums); Bashiri Johnson (percussion).
  • Alana Davis' sophomore album was released an astounding four years after her solid debut, Blame It on Me. The album is a triumphant return of an artist sadly missing in action. Her new songs are built around simple rhythm guitar with hints of funk, reggae, and soul. Fortune Cookies sounds remarkably fresh and immediate, considering that it was years in the making. It is no surprise that a singer/songwriter as talented as Davis would have progressed wonderfully as a songwriter and musician. The album's core theme of struggling to maintain optimism while mired in solitude encompasses the entire disc, making it more unified than her debut. Musically, a creative mix of drum production and string arrangements also makes Fortune Cookies a fresh and sexy treat. Davis' Stevie Wonder and Joni Mitchell influences are once again apparent and applied with inspiration. The musical landscape was decidedly more open to female singers back in 1997, but the audience for an intelligent, soulful songwriter may have actually grown. Davis has more in common with Alicia Keyes and Maxwell than Jewel anyway. Standout tracks include the first single, "I Want You," and the collaboration with super-producers the Neptunes on "Bye Bye (AKA My Life)." This album contains a cover more surprising than Blame It on Me's "32 Flavors": Whodini's "Friends." If radio programmers know what's good for them, they will play this awesome reworking of the 1984 hip-hop classic. Fortune Cookies confidently avoids the pitfalls of a sophomore slump. The (second) arrival of a major talent. ~ JT Griffith
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (11/02/01, p.78) - "...Equal parts groove and snooze..." - Rating: B-
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Folk Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top