Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!



Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Genesis: Phil Collins (vocals, drums, programming); Mike Rutherford (guitar, bass, background vocals); Tony Banks (12-string guitar, keyboards, background vocals).
  • Recorded at Polar Studios, Sweden.
  • Digitally remastered by Nick Davis, Geoff Callingham & Chris Blair.
  • Genesis (UK): Mike Rutherford (bass guitar); Phil Collins, Tony Banks.
  • Personnel: Tony Banks (vocals, 12-string guitar, keyboards, background vocals); Phil Collins (vocals, drums, drum machine, percussion); David Hentschel (vocals, background vocals); Mike Rutherford (guitar, background vocals).
  • Recording information: Polar Studios, Stockholm, Sweden (10/1979-12/1979).
  • Genesis still have a credibility problem which at present just trails the present standing of ex-drummer/vocalist Philip Collins. Duke was the record that shed their 'heavy prog' image and found them beginning to loosen up. Collins had grown in confidence following Peter Gabriel's departure and the band immediately became much tighter musically. In addition to the hit singles "Duchess," the buoyant "Turn It On Again" and realism of a situation in "Misunderstanding," there is the painful honesty of "Please Don't Ask." There have been many bigger Genesis albums, but none have anywhere near as much heart.
Professional Reviews
CMJ (1/5/04, p.6) - Ranked #9 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1980".

Mojo (Publisher) (3/01, p.82) - "...The band's first UK Number 1 also marked their first use of a drum machine - the end of their 'classic' period for hardcore fans. Inspired by Collins' love of soul, 'Turn It On Again' has the band exploring funkier fields..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top