Free Shipping to Singapore

Singapore's Best Prices on the Biggest Range of Products

Definitive Collection [Recall]

Album: Definitive Collection [Recall]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Runaway
2)    Running Scared
3)    Hats Off to Larry
4)    (Marie's the Name) His Latest Flame
5)    I Wake Up Crying
6)    Cold, Cold Heart
7)    Crying
8)    So Long Baby
9)    Runaround Sue
10)    Hey Little Girl
11)    Hey Baby
12)    Dream Baby
13)    She Cried
14)    She Thinks I Still Care
15)    Cry Myself to Sleep
16)    Swiss Maid, The
17)    I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love With You)
18)    Go Away Little Girl
19)    Your Cheatin' Heart
20)    Little Town Flirt
1)    Ruby Baby
2)    Two Kinds of Teardrops
3)    Kelly
4)    Twist and Shout
5)    From Me to You
6)    Two Silhouettes
7)    Sue's Gotta Be Mine
8)    Needles and Pins
9)    Mary Jane
10)    Sorry (I Ran All the Way Home)
11)    World Without Love, A
12)    Memphis
13)    Rag Doll
14)    Handy Man
15)    Do You Want to Dance?
16)    I'm Gonna Be Strong
17)    Keep Searchin' (We'll Follow the Sun)
18)    I Go to Pieces
19)    Stranger in Town
20)    Break Up
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Roger Dopson.
  • Though the import Charly collection, which also calls itself The Definitive Collection goes a lot deeper with 20 tracks' worth, this double-disc set by Recall is nothing to sneeze at. First off, there are 40 tunes here, and virtually every major and regional hit Del Shannon recorded. Secondly, in comparison, there is a lot less album fodder, which is especially useful when considering Shannon recorded primarily during an era in which the single was king, maybe two, and virtually everything else was used to fill up LP sides. Shannon was a covers artist; he was a singer of rock and pop songs used to fill jukeboxes, late night radio, and hits collections issued by various personality DJs. His one monster smash, "Runaway," was written by Max Crook and issued in 1961. It was a long hard road down after that, but Shannon was able to ride the rock & roll slide for quite awhile, scoring to a lesser degree with his own "Hats Off to Larry," and "So Long Baby," a cover of Dion's "Runaround Sue," and Doc Pomus' "(Marie's The Name) of His Latest Flame," to name a few. (Why the late Pomus' amazing "You Never Talked About Me" isn't included is a mystery considering it is the definitive' performance of the tune and scored higher on the charts than any other version.) There are great songs included in this mix, such as Shannon's "I Go to Pieces," Barry Mann's "I'm Gonna Be Strong," Otis Blackwell's "Handy Man," and an excellent version of Sonny Bono's "Needles and Pins," which may not be Jackie DeShannon's version but is far better than many of the others out there. Recommended. ~ Thom Jurek
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Easy Listening » Oldies » '60s
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top