Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Dead Set (Expanded & Remastered) [2 Discs]


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • "Rhythm Devils" replaces "Space" from the original CD version.
  • The Grateful Dead: Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir (vocals, guitar); Phil Lesh (vocals, bass); Brent Mydland (keyboards); Bill Kreutzmann (drums); Mickey Hart (percussion).
  • Producers: Don Healy, Betty Cantor-Jackson, Jerry Garcia.
  • Recorded live at the Warfield Theater, San Francisco, September 25-October 14, 1980 and at Radio City Music Hall, New York City, October 22-31, 1980.
  • Digitally remastered by Joe Gastwirt (Digital Magnetics).
  • Audio Mixer: Tom Flye.
  • Liner Note Author: Steve Silberman.
  • Recording information: Radio City Music Hall, New York, NY (09/25/1980-10/31/1980); Warfield Theatre, San Francisco, CA (09/25/1980-10/31/1980).
  • Photographers: Jay Blakesberg; John Werner ; Bruce Polonsky; Richard McCaffrey; Robert Minkin; Ken Friedman.
  • Arranger: Grateful Dead.
  • The Grateful Dead required a live setting in order to play at their peak, so they toured incessantly and released many a live record, sometimes even following one with another. And it made sense, because the touring Dead were a work in progress, a constantly evolving experiment. Night after night, they would rework and rediscover their songs in a way that no other band did. On any given night, they could be stellar, inspired, meandering, or downright sloppy--sometimes all four--but on any given night, there was always at least a little bit of that ineffable Dead magic.
  • DEAD SET was recorded in the fall of 1980 in California and New York. This collection steers clear of the extended twists and turns of a typical Dead show and stays in well-charted, melodic territory. No long space jams here, and only a truncated drum solo. Instead, there are singable crowd favorites like "Fire on the Mountain," "Franklin's Tower," a bunch from the classic AMERICAN BEAUTY ("Friend of the Devil," "Brokedown Palace," "Candyman") and a fiery version of "New Minglewood Blues," a traditional song they covered on their very first record.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top