Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Between Us


Product Description
Product Details


1. Got It Goin' On

2. From The Start

3. Take Me Home To You

4. So Into You

5. For Your Love

6. Interlude

7. Together Again

8. Between Us

9. Waterfalls

10. Funky D

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Steve Cole (soprano, alto & tenor saxophones, keyboards); TJ (vocals); Orbert Davis (trumpet); Brian Culbertson (trombone, Hammond B-3 organ, keyboards, synthesizer, programming); Fink, B. (horns); Ricky Peterson (Fender Rhodes piano, Hammond B-3 organ; Paul Jackson Jr., Gerey Johnson (guitar); Richard Patterson, Alex Al (bass); Michael White, Oscar Seaton (drums); Luis Conte, Lenny Castro (percussion).
  • Engineers: Eddie King, Brain Culbertson, Craig Bauer.
  • Principally recorded at Hinge Studios, Chicago, Illinois.
  • Personnel: Gerey Johnson, Paul Jackson, Jr. (guitar); Orbert Davis (trumpet); Brian Culbertson (trombone, Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards, bass synthesizer, drum programming); Fink & B (horns); Ricky Peterson (Fender Rhodes piano); Oscar Seaton (drums); Lenny Castro, Luis Conte (percussion).
  • Recording information: Hinge; Megatrax.
  • Fast becoming one of smooth jazz's hookiest songwriters, Steve Cole scored two number one radio hits off his 1998 debut, Stay Awhile. No doubt that program directors will continue to favor those tunes, but hopefully it won't be at the expense of the takes-one-listen-only-to-hum craftsmanship of many of the tracks on the follow-up, Between Us (Atlantic). He has the notion of "quick verse, get to the brassy hook" down to such a science that it may take a few listens to realize that the opening two tracks, "Got It Goin' On" and "From the Start" are two different songs. On both, producer Brian Culbertson provides the simmering retro-keyboard atmospheres beneath a silky, laid-back tenor lines but only for brief respites between the perfect choruses, on which Cole textures tenor with multiple alto-backing tracks. Cole sticks with this approach while varying rhythms throughout the disc, as if holding back on us throughout the verse sections and then making sure his hooks are brass-amplified so that we keep wanting him to return to them. He and Culbertson take this technique to new and exciting levels on a slow-simmering cover of TLC's "Waterfalls," texturing a horn section lead melody with another multiple horn harmony section; every few beats, Cole jumps out of the pattern to blow a cool tenor improvisation. Cole is a muscular tenor player by trade but will no doubt attract the mush lovers with his very tender soprano beauty on "For Your Love." ~ Jonathan Widran
Professional Reviews
JazzTimes (12/00, p.90) - "...Instantly attractive....presenting a distinctively lyrical, warm voice on alto sax, tenor and soprano alike..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top