Free Shipping to Singapore

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Best [International Version]

Album: The Best [International Version]
# Song Title   Time
  Disc 1
1)    What Have You Done For Me Lately Album Edit More Info... 4:44
2)    Nasty Album Version More Info... 4:00
3)    When I Think Of You Album Version More Info... 3:56
4)    Control Album Version More Info... 5:55
5)    Let's Wait Awhile Remix More Info... 4:30
6)    The Pleasure Principle Edit More Info... 4:13
7)    Diamonds Album Version More Info... 4:54
8)    Miss You Much Album Version More Info... 4:12
9)    Rhythm Nation Single Edit with Pledge More Info... 5:28
10)    Escapade Album Version More Info... 4:44
11)    Alright 7" House Mix With Rap More Info... 4:58
12)    Come Back To Me Album Version More Info... 5:33
13)    Black Cat Video Mix / Short Solo More Info... 4:31
14)    Love Will Never Do (Without You) Single Version More Info... 4:35
15)    The Best Things In Life Are Free Mo' Money/Soundtrack Version More Info... 4:36
16)    That's The Way Love Goes More Info... 4:25
17)    When I Think Of You David Morales House Mix '95 Uk 7" Edit More Info... 3:31
  Disc 2
1)    If More Info... 4:32
2)    Again More Info... 3:48
3)    Because Of Love More Info... 4:18
4)    Any Time, Any Place More Info... 5:12
5)    Scream More Info... 4:02
6)    Runaway Album Version More Info... 3:35
7)    Got 'Til It's Gone More Info... 3:36
8)    Together Again More Info... 4:07
9)    I Get Lonely More Info... 4:01
10)    Go Deep More Info... 4:43
11)    What's It Gonna Be? More Info... 4:03
12)    Doesn't Really Matter Album Version (Edited) More Info... 4:56
13)    All For You More Info... 4:32
14)    Someone To Call My Lover Single Edit More Info... 4:15
15)    Call On Me More Info... 3:35
16)    Feedback Single Version More Info... 3:56
17)    Whoops Now Single Version More Info... 4:07
18)    Make Me More Info... 3:38
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Photographers: Yuri Elizondo; Patrick Demarchelier; Chuando & Frey; James White ; Max Vadukul; Eddie Wolfl; Andrew MacPherson; Tony Viramontes; Rene Elizondo Jr.
  • Number Ones -- released as The Best in some territories outside the U.S. -- replaces Design of a Decade, released 14 years prior. Excepting the new song "Make Me" (hard neo-disco/funk excellence), each song here was indeed a number one hit on Billboard's various charts, though "Got 'Til It's Gone" sneaks through a side door via the Japanese charts. One number one, oddly, is missing: "So Excited," a perfectly fine 2006 single that topped the club chart. This set is more thorough with 1986-1996, too, adding Herb Alpert's "Diamonds" (which would not have been out of place on Control, given Jam & Lewis' production and Janet's precedence over Alpert's trumpet), as well as "The Best Things in Life Are Free" (with Luther Vandross), all the smashes off janet., and "Scream" (with her brother). Say what you want about Janet peaking with Jam & Lewis during the latter half of the '80s -- to be fair, the argument is valid -- but she did rack up a career's worth of solid hits during the years that followed. Even if they were not as sonically innovative and lacked the same amount of pop appeal of the Control/Rhythm Nation-era singles, they clearly made a significant impact and have aged well. Four of the songs first compiled on Design of a Decade appear in slightly different forms, which could make a minor difference for the fans who are most hardcore. This includes the 7" video version of "Alright," the album version of "Control," the "short solo single version" of "Black Cat," and what is likely the single edit of "Rhythm Nation." [Some editions of The Best contained bonus tracks.] ~ Andy Kellman
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top