Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Austin Sessions,


Product Description
Product Details


1. Me And Bobby Mcgee

2. Sunday Morning Coming Down

3. For The Good Times

4. The Silver Tongued Devil And I

5. Help Me Make It Through The Night

6. Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I'll Ever Do Again)

7. The Beat The Devil

8. Who's To Bless And Who's To Blame

9. Why Me?

10. The Pilgrim: Chapter 33

11. Please Don't Tell Me How The Story Ends

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Kris Kristofferson (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica); John Willis (acoustic, electric, slide & nylon string guitar, dobro, mandolin); Stephen Bruton (acoustic, electric & high string guitar, mandolin); Fred Mollin (12-string guitar, percussion); Mark Knopfler (electric guitar, background vocals); Paul Franklin (steel guitar); Jim Cox (accordion, piano, organ); Joe Spivey (fiddle); Larry Paxton (acoustic & electric bass); Mike Baird (drums); Steve Earle, Jackson Browne, Catie Curtis, Matraca Berg, Vince Gill, Alison Krauss, Mark Cohn (background vocals).
  • Recorded at Arlyn Studis, Austin, Texas. Includes liner notes by Kris Kristofferson.
  • For the follow-up to Moment of Forever, his first set of new original songs in years, Kris Kristofferson decided to record a set of stripped-down new versions of his classic songs. This project, released on Atlantic Records and entitled The Austin Sessions, was a star-studded affair, featuring harmony vocals from Jackson Browne, Steve Earle, Matraca Berg, Vince Gill, Marc Cohn, Alison Krauss, Catie Curtis, and Mark Knopfler. In one sense, it's easy to question why Kristofferson needed to record these songs again, since much of his catalog seems to consist of reinterpretations of these songs, but taken on its own terms, it's a good listen. In a way, Kristofferson's voice -- which never had too much range, even at its peak -- sounds better now that its older; the ragged edges and wear give it more character, which lend character to the songs. Ultimately, The Austin Sessions isn't a major addition to his catalog, but there's enough warmth and personality to these recordings to make it worth a listen for longtime fans. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Professional Reviews
Mojo (Publisher) (1/00, p.98) - "...these profound, masterful songs of loss and loneliness are given a worthy going over by their creator."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top