Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Argus. Edition] [Remastered]


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • ARGUS: EXPANDED EDITION contains bonus tracks from LIVE IN MEMPHIS, a 1972 promotional EP.
  • Wishbone Ash includes: Ted Turner, Andy Powell (gutiar); Martin Turner (bass); Steve Upton (drums, percussion).
  • Producer: Derek Lawrence.
  • Reissue producers: Andy McKaie, Leon Tsilis.
  • Includes liner notes by Leon Tsilis.
  • Digitally remastered by Erik Kvortek.
  • Recording information: England.
  • On its third album, Wishbone Ash doesn't mess with its formula--as before, this long running British rock institution purveys a mix of blues, folk, and Yes- style riffs mated to endearingly cosmic lyrics. The songs here, however, are considerably more focused and well crafted than on the band's previous efforts, and the harmony singing is delightful.
  • As always, the band's basis is the tag team guitars of Andy Powell and Ted Turner. Fans of this duo's mix of Yardbirds- and Allman Brothers- style harmony licks and dueling solos will find much to admire here, particularly "The King Will Come" and "Time Was," a folk-ish epic in several contrasting sections. All in all, ARGUS is one of the best guitar albums of the early '70s.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (8/17/72, p.51) - "...boundlessly more appealing and stylistically assured than anything one might have expected from their first two releases..."

Uncut (9/02, p.126) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...their high watermark..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top