Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

7even Year Itch


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Collective Soul: Ed Roland (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Dean Roland, Ross Childress (guitar); Will Turpin (bass, percussion); Shane Evans (drums, percussion).
  • Producers include: Ed Roland, Ross Childress.
  • Engineers include: Greg Archilla.
  • Personnel: Ed Roland (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Dean Roland, Ross Childress (guitar); Shane Evans (drums, percussion); Will Turpin (percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Tom Lord-Alge.
  • Recording information: Tree Studios, Atlanta, GA.
  • Photographers: Mil Cannon; David LaChapelle.
  • Led by the raspy-voiced Ed Roland, Collective Soul avoided falling into the morass of sameness plaguing many of their faceless post-grunge brethren and instead quietly established themselves as one of the more intellectually stimulating bands of the '90s. For its 7EVEN YEAR ITCH compilation, this Georgia quartet consistently displays a deceptively simple approach that avoids bandwagon-jumping and instead focuses on hook-laden, guitar-driven manna with the occasional philosophical observation (not surprising as the band's name is an Ayn Rand reference).
  • Avoiding any hint of didactic pretensions, Roland's songwriting often touches on simple truths, be it the quest for guidance by a higher being in "Shine" (which was later given a gorgeous bluegrass reading by Dolly Parton), the pain of solitude on the moving "The World I Know," or the glory of absolution addressed in "Forgiveness." Even the new songs included on this collection continue down this path of introspection. With a more rhythmically hard-hitting approach than normal, "Next Homecoming" seeks out a sense of security in an unsure future while "Energy" churns out an insistent groove over a declaration of suspected betrayal. 7EVEN YEAR ITCH prove hooks and brainy concepts needn't be mutually exclusive of each other.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top