Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

44 & 66


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Greg Brown (vocals, guitar); Prudence Johnson (vocals); Chuck Henderson (guitar); Gary Delaney (mandolin); Al Soucek (clarinet); Dave Moore (harmonica); Ron Rohovit (bass).
  • Personnel: Prudence Johnson (vocals); Chuck Henderson (guitar); Dave Moore (harmonica); Al Soucek (clarinet).
  • Audio Mixer: Tom Tucker.
  • Photographers: Dom Franco; Steve Zarodny.
  • Though 44 & 66 is full of the folkie touches and yearning for rural life that typify Greg Brown's early albums, there's a definite nod here towards his darker, more rough-and-tumble later work. "Early" is a nostalgic evocation of the town where Brown grew up, but the bittersweet melancholia of the minor key "Twenty or So" makes it a folk equivalent of "It Was a Very Good Year." "Downtown" is full of breathless lust for excitement, and the traditional folk-blues framework of "People Hide Their Love" supports an understated, masterfully composed rumination on the vagaries of human interaction.
  • The bonus cut "Comin' Into You" foreshadows some of Brown's subsequent, randier material with its single-entendre depiction of the carnal joys of life. Brown wasn't up to full speed yet on 44 & 66, but it still includes several memorable songs and is recommended to his fans.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk » General
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top