Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Recorded between May 21, 1955 and March 26, 1964. Includes liner notes by Joseph F. Laredo.
  • Digitally remastered by Erick Labson (MCA Music Media Studios, No. Hollywood, California).
  • This is part of MCA's 20th Century Masters: The Millennium Collection series.
  • Audio Remixer: Erick Labson.
  • Liner Note Author: Joseph F. Laredo.
  • Recording information: Lancaster Arts Festival, Coventry, England (05/21/1955-02/03/1972).
  • Photographers: Michael Ochs; Dick Waterman; Frank Driggs.
  • Rock & roll ground zero, which is to say that Chuck Berry may not have invented the music (there being no first rock record any more than there's a first romantic novel) but he definitely invented its grammar (comparisons with D. W. Griffith are thus totally appropriate). A one-CD, 11-song collection clearly doesn't do justice to the man's oeuvre, but there's nothing here that's less than classic, with the exception of his 1972 novelty hit "My Ding-a-Ling." As for the rest, it's all wit, wordplay, sly sexual allusions, and great guitar riffs--what more could anyone want?
Professional Reviews
Vibe (12/99, p.157) - Included in Vibe's 100 Essential Albums of the 20th Century - "...Blues feel, country bounce, witty words, teen spirit - Berry wired them all into 3-minute big bangs of modern music. The playbook."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top