COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Where the Crawdads Sing
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Delia Owens is the co-author of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa including Cry of the Kalahari.She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and many others.She currently lives in Idaho. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.

Reviews

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world - New York Times Book ReviewAn Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. - Chris Schluep, Amazon Book ReviewSteeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. - PeopleThis lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver - BustleA nature-infused romance with a killer twist - Refinery29Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is moving - Daily MailHeart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. - Entertainment WeeklyFor a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievement - The Times

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top