Free Shipping to Singapore

Singapore's Best Prices on the Biggest Range of Products

Snobs
By

Rating
Product Details

About the Author

Julian Fellowes is the Emmy Award-winning writer and creator of Downton Abbey and the winner of the 2001 Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay for Gosford Park. He also wrote the screenplays for Vanity Fair and The Young Victoria.He is the bestselling author of Snobs and Past Imperfect. His other works include The Curious Adventure of the Abandoned Toys and the book for the Disney stage musical of Mary Poppins. As an actor, his roles include Lord Kilwillie in the BBC Television series Monarch of Glen and the 2nd Duke of Richmond in Aristocrats, as well as appearances in the films Shadowlands, Damage, and Tomorrow Never Dies. He lives in London and Dorset, England.

Reviews

"Like a visit of an English country estate: breezy, beautiful, and charming." --The New York Times Book Review "[A] guilty pleasure of a novel [that] seems authentic down to the wallpaper and the Wellingtons. Hilarious...sharp, entertaining, and unforgiving." --Anna Quindlen "Snobs, by Julian Fellowes, is an hilariously snobbish novel about hilariously snobbish people involved in a society scandal. Froth at its best. His writing is as stylish as his story. Mr. Fellowes knows his turf well." --Dominick Dunne "I couldn't put Snobs down: Who could resist a great story of a beautiful, ambitious girl on her climb to the turreted top of the castle-hopping set? As witty as he is smart, Julian Fellowes is the Oscar-winning, Oscar Wilde of the minute." --Plum Sykes "Julian Fellowes's witty, wise depiction of the lives and lunacies of upper-class English life is just my cup of tea...." --Jane Stanton Hitchcock "Snobs is everything you would hope for from the writer of Gosford Park. A delicious thoroughbred delight, a guilty treat that is awake to every maddening and appallingly attractive nuance of English social life. The novel somehow contrives to be moral without being preachy or losing for a minute its gracefully shameless delight in the well bred and their satellites. A kind of Louis Auchincloss for our times, Julian Fellowes has written a book that is destined to grace all the bedside tables of all the better houses in the land." --Stephen Fry "This is the kind of book Edith Wharton would have written if she were around today." --Arnold Scaasi "Snobs is an insightful, funny satire of English upper-crust country life in the tradition of Mitford or Waugh....The best chick-lit book of the season was written by a man." --The Globe and Mail "Sparklingly rompish...As long as this world does still exist, Fellowes is a delectable guide to its absurdities." --Sunday Times (London) "Illustrated with some cherishably nasty, Gosford Park--style scenes of aristocratic point-scoring, and far more illuminating than a copy of Correct Form...one of those books one imagines being sent up to Balmoral...where it will be proclaimed divinely funny and quite amazingly true to life." --The Guardian "Deliciously waspish satire...Snobs is terrific entertainment, deepened by the sad ache of truth." --Literary Review "Fellowes's attractive, faintly cynical voice has overtones of Trollope, Waugh, and Mitford." --The Independent "A delicious comedy of manners on the nuances of English social life, which raises laughter and an occasional wince of recognition." --Daily Mail "Provocative, titillating, and seductive...Julian Fellowes tells this anachronistic morality tale with such wit, verve, elegance, and schadenfreude that it never loses momentum." --The Spectator "Fellowes doesn't try to hide his love of the funny, sealed, above-stairs world of dukes, duchesses, marquesses, nusery maids, herbaceous borders, and breakfast kedgeree under its own silver lid, all of which is what makes Snobs such a good, fresh read." --Telegraph

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top