Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Sato the Rabbit
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Born in Yokohama, Yuki Ainoya studied Japanese painting at the Tama Art University Faculty of Art and Design. She was the winner of the the Crayon House Children's Book Grand Prize in 1990 and the 12th Japanese Children's Book Award in 2007 for the original Japanese edition of Sato the Rabbit (Shogakukan). In her spare time, she likes playing the accordion and hula dancing.

A Seattle native with a life-long connection to Japan, Michael Blaskowsky spent seven years living on the Japanese island of Hokkaido after graduating from Eastern Washington University. His translations cover a wide range of topics, with a focus on literature, the arts, gaming, and the sciences.

Reviews

A 2021 Horn Book Fanfare Best Book of 2021 "In a set of seven small vignettes that span the seasons, Sato's daily activities - watering the garden, doing the laundry, splashing in puddles - turn into magic. Cracking open a walnut reveals an inviting miniature world. Eating a watermelon turns into a seafaring adventure. ("Nothing compares to eating watermelon on the sea.") Observing a meteor shower leads to a star-collection mission. Paintings in a naive style burst with saturated color - watermelon red, night-sky blue, spring chartreuse. For fans of Doi's Chirri & Chirra books, this import provides another cozy glimpse into mystery, independence, and imaginative play. " -STARRED REVIEW, The Horn Book


A 100 Scope Notes Most Astonishingly Unconventional Book of 2021"Enchanted Lion is a publisher who appreciates the unconventional side of children's literature, and Japanese import Sato the Rabbit is a perfect example of this. Just your average, everyday story about a boy who has decided to be a rabbit and his whimsically surreal life and adventures." -Travis Jonker, 100 Scope Notes (A School Library Journal blog)


A 2022 Mildred L. Batchelder Honor Book"In seven short imaginative tales, Sato's imagination transforms the details of ordinary life into fanciful antics that embrace and enhance the natural world." -American Library Association"Gentle lighthearted humor throughout the text delights the reader and endears them to the imaginative and ingenious Sato." -Dr. Marie A. Lejeune, 2022 Batchelder Chair


A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of 2022
"A surreal symphony of vibrant colors and images, Sato the Rabbit is a whimsical trilogy of picture books for readers age 4-8... All three books in Sato the Rabbit are a satisfying ode to the deep power-and beauty-of the imagination." -Nanette McGuiness, World Kid Lit

Ask a Question About this Product More...
 
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top