Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Protector's War


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

S. M. Stirling is the New York Times bestselling author of many science fiction and fantasy novels, including the Novels of the Change (including Prince of Outcasts, The Desert and the Blade, The Golden Princess, The Given Sacrifice, Lord of Mountains) and the Shadowspawn series (A Taint in the Blood, The Council of Shadows, Shadows of Falling Night).


In one catastrophic moment in the final years of the 20th century, all technology ceased to function, leaving humanity without any power except what they could provide with their own (and their animals') labor. Almost a decade after "The Change," two allied communities-former pilot Michael Havel's Bearkillers and Wiccan priestess Juniper Mackenzie's Clan Mackenzie-attempt to forge a life of prosperity and meaning despite threats from bandits, tyrannical rival communities, and the impotent but troublesome remnants of government. Far away, in England, a group of exiles sets out to find a new home and a new future on the North American continent. Stirling continues the saga begun in Dies the Fire, revisiting old characters and introducing new ones. His ability to imagine a return to quasimedievalism in the modern world provides a glimpse into the inner strength of men and women under fire. Highly recommended. Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

"Readers who relish a battle between the forces of light and darkness, along with many frissons about what civilization means, are in for a rousing good time." - Science Fiction Weekly

"Reminds me of Poul Anderson at his best." - David Drake

"Rousing...a stirring tale." - New York Times Bestselling Author John Ringo

"[A] vivid portrait of a world gone insane." - Statesman Journal (Salem, OR)

"Absorbing." - The San Diego Union-Tribune

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top