Free Shipping to Singapore

Singapore's Best Prices on the Biggest Range of Products

Prayers for Sale
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Award-winning author Sandra Dallas was dubbed "a quintessential American voice" by Jane Smiley, in Vogue Magazine. She is the author of The Bride's House, Whiter Than Snow, and Tallgrass, among others. Her novels have been translated into a dozen languages and optioned for films. She is the recipient of the Women Writing the West Willa Award and the two-time winner of the Western Writers of America Spur Award. For 25 years, Dallas worked as a reporter covering the Rocky Mountain region for Business Week, and started writing fiction in 1990. She lives with her husband in Denver, Colorado.

Reviews

Maggi-Med Reed's rendering of 86-year-old Henny Comfort and 17-year-old Nit Spindle, who forge an unlikely friendship in the middle of the Great Depression, is lively-and especially memorable when, over lengthy quilting sessions, Henny tells the girl stories about their neighbors in the little gold-mining town of Middle Swan, Colo. As narrator, however, Reed is uneven, sometimes even monotonous, giving little verve to Dallas's vivid descriptions of landscapes or weather that alternate with Henny's histories. But the bonds between old folks and young ones are a beloved theme in recent literature (e.g., The Senator's Wife, Tuesdays with Morrie) and listeners who enjoy this theme will be able to overlook any weak points and relish this audio. A St. Martin's hardcover (Reviews, Oct. 6). (Apr.) Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.

"Fans of Lee Smith, Sue Monk Kidd, and Kaye Gibbons will love this book." --Booklist (starred review)"Dallas is an amazing storyteller with a knack for historical fiction. Her writing is fresh and current even though she writes about the past. Her characters linger in the mind long after the story is finished." --The Denver Post

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top