Free Shipping to Singapore

Singapore's Best Prices on the Biggest Range of Products

The Penguin Lessons
By

Rating
A unique and moving real-life story of the extraordinary bond between a young teacher and a penguin, this book will delight readers who loved "Marley & Me, Dewey the Library Cat, The Good Good Pig, "and any book by Jon Katz. In 1975, twenty-three-year-old Englishman Tom Michell follows his wanderlust to Argentina, where he becomes assistant master at a prestigious boarding school. But Michell s adventures really begin when, on a weekend in Uruguay, he rescues a penguin covered in oil from an ocean spill, cleans the bird up, and attempts to return him to the sea. The penguin refuses to leave his rescuer s side. That was the moment at which he became my penguin, and whatever the future held, we d face it together, says Michell in this charming memoir. Michell names the penguin Juan Salvador ( John Saved ), but Juan Salvador, as it turns out, is the one who saves Michell. After Michell smuggles the bird back to Argentina and into his campus apartment, word spreads about the young Englishman s unusual roommate. Juan Salvador is suddenly the center of attention as mascot of the rugby team, confidant to the dorm housekeeper, co-host of Michell s parties, and an unprecedented swimming coach to a shy boy. Even through the collapse of the Peronist government and amid the country s economic and political strife, Juan Salvador brings joy to everyone around him especially Michell, who considers the affectionate animal a compadre and kindred spirit. Witty and heartwarming, "The Penguin Lessons" is a classic in the making, a story that is both absurd and wonderful, exactly like Juan Salvador. Praise for "The Penguin Lessons" "" I loved this book, and you will, too! It s as charming, heartwarming, and surprising as a penguin on a roof terrace. What s more, "The Penguin Lessons" teaches an important truth: that a single act of compassion can be repaid a thousand-fold. Sy Montgomery, author of "The Good Good Pig "and the National Book Award finalist" The Soul of an Octopus" "" [Tom Michell s] tone suits the material perfectly. . . . You believe every word. . . . No fool, this penguin. No fools, these publishers, who have unleashed such a delightful and charming book just in time for Christmas. "Daily Mail "(U.K.) Heart-warming is a wholly inadequate phrase to describe this captivating story that is pure delight from beginning to end. "The Bookseller "(U.K.)"
Product Details

Trailer

About the Author

Tom Michell lives in Cornwall, England. At the tender age of sixty-four, he wrote The Penguin Lessons. This is his first book.

Reviews

"I loved this book, and you will, too! It's as charming, heartwarming, and surprising as a penguin on a roof terrace. What's more, The Penguin Lessons teaches an important truth: that a single act of compassion can be repaid a thousand-fold."--Sy Montgomery, author of The Good Good Pig and the National Book Award finalist The Soul of an Octopus "[Tom Michell's] tone suits the material perfectly. . . . You believe every word. . . . No fool, this penguin. No fools, these publishers, who have unleashed such a delightful and charming book just in time for Christmas."--Daily Mail (U.K.) "Heart-warming is a wholly inadequate phrase to describe this captivating story that is pure delight from beginning to end."--The Bookseller (U.K.)

Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Home & Garden » Pets » Essays
Home » Books » Travel » Special Interest » Pets
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top