COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Orphans of the Tide
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A breathtaking middle grade debut for fans of Brightstorm and His Dark Materials.

About the Author

Struan Murray (Author) Struan Murray is Scottish and grew up in Edinburgh, the youngest of a large, rowdy family of redheads. His first publication was a drawing in Pingu Magazine, aged seven, but his debut novel, Orphans of the Tide has attracted rather more critical acclaim. When he's not writing, Struan is a lecturer at the University of Oxford.

Reviews

A sumptuously atmospheric adventure . . . Murray is a tirelessly inventive storyteller -- Emily Bearn * The Daily Telegraph *
Gripping . . . with a touch of Frances Hardinge's bizarre brilliance -- Imogen Russell Williams * The Guardian *
Unputdownable . . . Murray has an extraordinary imagination -- Alex O'Connell * The Times *
Energetic and inventive . . . and with some startling surprises, this is also touching about friendship, siblings, loss and courage -- Nicolette Jones * The Sunday Times *
Struan Murray . . . effortlessly joins the ranks of the most skilled world-creators . . . Unpredictable, filled with plot twists and shades of moral grey, Orphans of the Tide is both gripping and original. -- Kitty Empire * The Observer *
A beautifully written fantasy adventure with prose that is both muscular and musical, and outstanding world building. -- Sarah Webb * Irish Independent *
Orphans of the Tide is singularly brilliant. So inventive, and weird, and beautiful, with just the right amount of bite and darkness. I predict big things! * Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Girl of Ink and Stars and The Mercies *
I loved it! Dark and thrilling. Great characters to root for. Perilous plot. Extraordinary, vivid world building . . . brilliant! * Eloise Williams, Children's Laureate Wales *
The most original opening I've read in years and a plot twist that turns brilliantly * Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song *
This is a terrific debut of strange myths and dark secrets, fierce loyalties and ruthless villains, told against the thrilling backdrop of a half submerged city. * The Bookseller - Editor's Choice *
Compellingly inventive and unpredictable, kept me guessing right till the end. * Piers Torday, author of The Last Wild *
Absolutely cracking! Great characters, with quite the nastiest villain I've met in a long while. * Fleur Hitchcock, author of The Boy Who Flew *
Outstanding and immersive . . . I devoured this in one go * book blogger Lily SugarPlum Faery *
An imaginative journey to a stunning fantasy world, full of twists and heart . . . an absolute corker . . . filled with swashbuckling adventure . . . an enthralling fantasy that moves through dark and grisly scenes of grave peril to positively touching moments of profound friendship. An incredibly imaginative narrative that fills its reader with wonder and thrills while also not being afraid to share quieter moments of real heart. * The Daily Express *
There is a touch of Phillip Pullman about the world that Murray creates, and Murray matches Pullman lyrical prose [...] The comparison, however, should not take away from Murray's originality [...] the characters themselves, led by the plucky Ellie, anchor Orphans of the Tide in an urgent, human reality. * Irish Times *
The energetic steampunk vibe overlies a thoughtful fable about compassion and justice * New Statesman *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top