COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

One Day I'll Remember This
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

In this second volume of diaries from one of Australia's greatest writers, we see Garner in love; asking herself questions about relationships, individuality, morality and contentment. For readers of Lisa Taddeo's Three Women, and avid Garner fans, this volume illuminates the inner life of a writer with all its turmoil and joy.

About the Author

Helen Garner writes novels, stories, screenplays and works of non-fiction. In 2006 she received the inaugural Melbourne Prize for Literature, the prestigious Windham-Campbell Literature Prize for non-fiction and the Western Australian Premier's Book Award. In 2019 she was honoured with the Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature, and in 2020 she received the Lloyd O'Neill Award for her outstanding contribution to the industry. Her books include Monkey Grip, The Children's Bach, The First Stone, Joe Cinque's Consolation, The Spare Room, This House of Grief, Everywhere I Look, True Stories and Yellow Notebook.

Reviews

'Garner is scrupulous, painstaking, and detailed, with sharp eyes and ears. She is everywhere at once, watching and listening, a recording angel at life's secular apocalypses...her unillusioned eye makes her clarity compulsive.' * James Wood, New Yorker *
'On the page, Garner is uncommonly fierce, though this usually has the effect on me of making her seem all the more likable. I relish her fractious, contrarian streak - she wears it as a chef would a bloody apron - even as I worry about what it would be like to have to face it down.' * Guardian *
'A rich insight into what it means to be an artist. Not just a writer but any kind of artist where the pull of the work surpasses everything else. Reading these snatches of life being lived is like being given a painting you love gleaming with the still-wet paint.' * Helen Elliott, Australian on Yellow Notebook *
'Garner's self-deprecating reflections are profound and funny. Her dispatches from daily life in the late 80s and early 90s...are relayed in her trademark matter-of-fact prose, always oriented towards truth and self-examination, no matter how painful...One Day I'll Remember This is a revealing window into the mind of one of Australia's greatest living writers.' * Books+Publishing *
'The spirituality of these diaries is worth a library of high-minded theology...Their acuity is ultimately healing. You will leave with the impression that you have not so much been looking at Garner's life as at life itself.' * Age *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top