Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Hellenistic Lives


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Introduction Select Bibliiography Chronology Maps Alexander Demosthenes Phocion Eumenes Demetrius Pyrrhus Agis and Cleomenes Aratus Philopoemen Flamininus Textual Notes Explanatory Notes Index of Proper Names

About the Author

Robin Waterfield is a writer, living in Greece. His previous translations for Oxford World's Classics include Plato's Republic and five other editions of Plato's dialogues, Aristotle's Physics, Herodotus' Histories, Polybius' Histories, Plutarch's Greek Lives and Roman Lives, Euripides' Orestes and Other Plays and Heracles and Other Plays, Xenophon's The Expedition of Cyrus, Demosthenes' Selected Speeches and The First Philosophers: The PreSocratics and the Sophists. He is the author of Dividing the Spoils: The War for Alexander the Great's Empire (Oxford, 2011). Andrew Erskine is the author of The Hellenistic Stoa: Political Thought and Action (Duckworth/Bristol Classical Presss 1990, 2011), Troy between Greece and Rome: Local Tradition and Imperial Power (Oxford, 2001), and Roman Imperialism (Edinburgh UP, 2009). He has edited a number of books including A Companion to the Hellenistic World (Wiley-Blackwell, 2003). He is a general editor of the Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Ancient History (2012).


With a chronology and maps, this is a practical and helpful book for the student of the Hellenistic period * Ray Morris, Classics for All Reviews *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top