Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Great Circle
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

This monumentally powerful epic weaves together the astonishing lives of a daredevil female aviator, and the Hollywood rebel who will play her on screen. Perfect for fans of THE GOLDFINCH by Donna Tartt, and ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE.

About the Author

MAGGIE SHIPSTEAD's debut novel SEATING ARRANGEMENTS was a New York Times bestseller and winner of the Dylan Thomas Prize and L A Times Book Prize for First Fiction. Her work has appeared in the New York Times, Guardian, Conde Nast Traveller, The Best American Short Stories and elsewhere. She is a graduate of the Iowa Writer's Workshop, a former Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford and a two- time National Magazine Award finalist for fiction. Her second novel is the critically acclaimed ASTONISH ME. Her widely praised new novel GREAT CIRCLE is shortlisted for the Booker Prize and was a New York Times bestseller. HEr story collection, YOU HAVE A FRIEND IN 10A will be published in hardback in 2022. Maggie Shipstead grew up in California and lives in Los Angeles, California.

Reviews

Luminous, masterful ... glides seamlessly through the 20th century immersing the reader. Tremendously well-written. * TELEGRAPH *
A gripping historical adventure that feels sharp, fresh and modern * STYLIST MAGAZINE *
This is truly exceptional storytelling, combining a sweeping arc of history with writing that, at sentence level, is near-flawless * BOOKSELLER, A Fiction Pick of the Year *
Effortlessly woven... deserves to be savoured slowly * EVENING STANDARD *
Shipstead turns phrases and observes people beautifully. Full of adventure, passion and tragedy... a glorious tribute to women who push the boundaries of their one, brief life, breaking the bonds of their place in history and their female bodies, to soar higher and faster than others; and the price they pay to live so fast * THE TIMES *
Impressive and gripping * SUNDAY TIMES *
Accomplished and ambitious... Most novelists have their limits and cut their cloth accordingly. Shipstead is a writer who can vividly summon whatever she chooses, taking the reader deep inside the world she creates. * FINANCIAL TIMES *
Rocked by the cool cadences of Shipstead's prose, readers will embark on a journey through time and space. Across 600 pages, they'll link arms with its characters as they stroll along the decks of early-1900s ocean liners, then board private jets to eavesdrop on the poolside parties of 21st-century Hollywood. They'll spot eagles arcing over the wild frontiers of Prohibition-era America then feel the lonely, existential chill of the white expanses of Antarctica - in between city breaks in Europe and Australia * INDEPENDENT *
A gorgeous soaring story that takes flight from the very first page * SUNDAY EXPRESS *
What's so impressive is how deeply we care about each of these people, and how the shape and texture of each of their stories collide to build a story all its own. GREAT CIRCLE grasps for and ultimately reaches something extraordinary * NEW YORK TIMES *
This wonderful novel weaves together the story of two women: a female aviator who goes missing in the1950s and the Hollywood star playing her in a film in the present day. A commitment that rewards with memorable characters and vivid storytelling * GOOD HOUSEKEEPING *
GREAT CIRCLE is a novel of our insatiable need to stare down the terrible, magnificent vastness of it all: love, war, desire, fear ... A sweeping, swashbuckling book, full of oversaturated colour and grand destiny. The joy of this dynamic, soaring novel is not a welcome extra but its very engine * TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT *
The Marian portions rove from Montana to Manhattan to Scotland and Antarctica, and read like a carnival of early-20th-century American history, packed with bootleggers, treacherous boxcar rides, and tragic shipwrecks. The Hadley chapters offer a delectable dissection of life as a celebrity, serving up an intelligent skewering of the Hollywood machine and allowing the book to take flight * VOGUE *
Underpinning it all is a reverence for nature, thrumming in the forests of Montana, the jagged peaks of Alaska and the stupefying ice shelves of the Antarctic. Exhilarating, masterful depictions ... invites readers to contemplate both magnitude and majesty * BOOKPAGE [Starred review] *
A clever, poignant story about ambition, love and sacrifice that'll completely draw you in * COSMOPOLITAN MAGAZINE *
One of the most hotly anticipated novels of the spring * MARIELLA FROSTRUP, TIMES RADIO *
Vast and entrancing * BA HIGH LIFE *
Nothing short of brilliant * OPRAH DAILY *
Grand, audacious and completely engrossing * DAILY MIRROR *
This ambitious, wide-ranging and psychologically insightful novel is a tour-de-force * DAILY EXPRESS *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top