Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Erebus the Ice Dragon


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Foreword Peter Barrett 8 Erebus Son of Chaos 11 1. Antarctica Carved by ice, forged in fire 17 2. 'Mountains of Madness' A continent ringed by fiery islands 29 3. 'This Splendid Burning Mountain' The discovery of Mount Erebus, 1841 46 4. 'Keeper of the Southern Gateway' The first ascent of Mount Erebus, 1908 68 5. 'Give me Erebus for my friend' The second ascent, 1912 91 6. HMS Pemmican sails on Erebus The third ascent, 1959, and beyond 107 7. The heartbeat of Erebus Probing the defences of the volcano, 1970s 129 8. 'No Latitude for Error' Reflections on the 1979 Ross Island air crash 161 9. The darkness beckons Roger Mear's solo winter ascent of Erebus, 1985 185 10. Scrambles in the heart of the Antarctic An ascent of Erebus from Cape Royds, 1991 204 11. Tread lightly in a land of extremophiles The unique microbial world of Erebus 219 12. The magma and the mantle Solving the Erebus enigma, 1980-2016 . . . and beyond 239 13. Shaping a volcano Erebus and the artistic imagination Adele Jackson 263 Erebus chronology 286 Air New Zealand Flight TE901 302 Glossary 308 Notes 313 Further reading 317 About the author 334 Acknowledgements 335 Index 339

About the Author

Colin Monteath is a New Zealand-based polar and mountain photographer and writer. From 1973 Colin worked in Antarctica for 31 seasons, and in 1978 made the first descent into the Inner Crater on Erebus. In 1979 he helped co-ordinate the recovery work following the Air New Zealand crash. He has made numerous first ascents in the Transantarctic Mountains, and in 1993 became the first New Zealander to reach the highest summit in Antarctica, Vinson Massif. Founder of Hedgehog House New Zealand, a photography library and publishing house, he has worked on numerous book projects on the polar regions, including the Reader's Digest book Antarctica: Great Stories from the Frozen Continent (1985), Smithsonian Institution Press's Wild Ice: Antarctic Journeys (1990), and Antarctica: Beyond the Southern Ocean (1996).

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top