Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Cow in the Parking Lot
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Susan Edmiston, a former editor at Redbook and Glamour, writes for New York, The New York Times Magazine and Book Review, Esquire, The San Francisco Chronicle, and Women's Day. She lives in Berkeley, California. Leonard Scheff, a successful trial lawyer in Tucson, Arizona, is also a practicing Buddhist who, for the last fifteen years, has conducted seminars on managing anger.

Reviews

Many believe that anger protects us, gives us control of a situation, and offers us an edge. But Cow submits that anger is damaging-to our health, our relationships, and our society. Zen Buddhists Scheff and Edmis-ton talk openly about the dirty little emotion, suggesting effortless small starts and modest changes to help us overcome our conditioning and live without anger. Using Zen parables coupled with rational, straightforward advice and exercises, the authors bestow instruments for success. With first-rate narration by Bill Mendieta, Cow is not only a rational look at an irrational emotion but also a good introduction to Buddhist principles. Recommended for fans of Anh Huong Nguyen's Walking Meditation.-Terry Ann Lawler, Phoenix P.L. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

What do cows and parking spaces have to do with managing a third sector workforce?

Quite a lot, if your day-to-day life involves finding yourself in a situation where you might succumb to feelings of frustration or anger.
The Cow in the Parking Lot, by Leonard Scheff and Susan Edmiston, says you can manage your anger in a positive way through the power of Buddhism. So when a colleague screws up, a donor pulls out or a charity campaign misfires, reach for the yoga mat, assume the meditation position and chant your cares away ... You may be wondering where the cow comes in. Well, imagine you're in a supermarket car park, circling for that elusive space. You find one, but before you can reverse in, someone else has swiped it. Now imagine that, instead of another driver, a cow has lumbered into the space and settled down. Your anger dissolves into bemusement. Scheff and Edmiston explain that once we understand our anger buttons, we can defuse a situation if they're pushed. Alternatively, just picture the cause of your frustration - be it a boss, colleague or donor - as a docile cow. That will soon have you smiling.
- Emma De Vita is books editor of Management Today

"One of the best books I've ever read on anger. It's lucid, comprehensive, and filled with valuable insights. Readers will discover not only an effective approach to overcoming anger, but the wisdom and methods to achieve a profound inner transformation-a life less troubled by destructive emotions, a life of greater happiness." -Dr. Howard C. Cutler, coauthor with the Dalai Lama of The Art of Happiness "Drawing on Buddhism's profound understanding of the mind, The Cow in the Parking Lot provides many insights and revelations about reducing anger and creating greater happiness in your life." -John Tarrant, author of Bring Me Rhinoceros and Other Zen Koans That Will Save Your Life "The Cow in the Parking Lot: A Zen Approach to Overcoming Anger offers one of the best titles available on anger management. It's packed with insights and techniques that advocate getting calm instead of angry, and comes from a trial attorney who used anger to fuel his fiery courtroom presence. Buddhist wisdom permeates a powerful survey of what provokes anger and how to turn it aside." -California Bookwatch
"Using simple Buddhist principles and applying them in a way that is easy for non-Buddhists to understand, Scheff has created an interactive book that helps readers change perspective, step by step, so that they can replace the anger in their lives with a new found happiness." - Clinton Books, New Jersey

"The Cow in the Parking Lot: A Zen Approach to Overcoming Anger offers one of the best titles available on anger management. It's packed with insights and techniques that advocate getting calm instead of angry, and comes from a trial attorney who used anger to fuel his fiery courtroom presence. Buddhist wisdom permeates a powerful survey of what provokes anger and how to turn it aside."

-California Bookwatch
"Scheff, a lawyer and Buddhist who has conducted seminars on anger management, and journalist Edmiston take a fresh approach to the perennial issue of anger, which they identify as a way of responding to unmet needs or wishes. They show how, through the application of simple Buddhist ideas, readers can alter their responses to life's anger-inducing moments and move from anger toward compassion. VERDICT: This book is aptly pointed at those who are curious about Buddhist spiritual practice in today's world, with its many opportunities for rage and frustration; it should appeal to religious readers as well as mothers, business leaders, teachers, and others."
-- Library Journal

"This little gem of a book is full of practical advice, illustrated by engaging stories of ways to recognize--then handle--episodes of anger in our lives. It is funny at moments, thoughtful and thoroughly eye-opening in others, and requires no adherence to a Zen lifestyle to gain its benefits."? -- Book Passage, San Francisco
-- "Management Today"

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top