COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Cat on the Mat is Flat
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton are a creative partnership that began in earnest with Just Tricking! in 1997 and now extends to five Just books and over a million copies sold, and the award-winning Bad Book. They are now published all over the world including the US where Andy's Bum books have made the New York Times bestseller lists.

Reviews

Griffiths's (The Day My Butt Went Psycho!) innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse. In the title tale, a cat sitting on a mat decides to chase a rat, who grabs a baseball bat: "Around and around and around the mat the rat chased the cat with the baseball bat until... KERSPLAT!" Other protagonists also encounter tongue-in-cheek adversity. Friends Ed and Ted and Ted's dog Fred survive a tumble off a cliff, a near-drowning and ingestion by a whale. Lou, "the unluckiest girl that the world ever knew," becomes covered in a kangaroo's glue and then lands headfirst in a "prickle bush." And pals Bill and Phil roll down a hill, landing in a puddle of smelly pig swill. Griffiths's bouncy cadence and wacky wordplay occasionally sound derivative of Dr. Seuss, as when a hog reprimands a speeding dog and frog: "Racing is NOT allowed in my bog! Not on a log! Not on a cog! No log-racing frogs! No cog-racing dogs!" And when Chuck the Duck's ice-cream truck gets stuck in the muck, Buck the Duck announces, "I can get your truck unstuck. I can suck up all the muck with the muck-sucker-upper on my muck-sucking truck!" Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor. Ages 4-8. (Sept.) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Gr 2-4-Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor. From the cat that is indeed flattened by a bat-wielding rat, to Unlucky Lou who lands in the prickle bush, to the evil bee, the rhymes keep coming. Denton's artwork seems slapdash, but perfectly parallels the zany humor. Few books of this length sport so much white space, large type, and spot art. Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages.-Pat Leach, Lincoln City Libraries, NE Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

Praise for "The Cat on the Mat is Flat":


"Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor . . . Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages." --"School Library Journal"
"Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse . . . Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor." --"Publishers Weekly"
"Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals." --The Excelsior File (blog)
"Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's "Happy Hockey Family,"" --"Kirkus Reviews"
"This collection of stories is fun albeit with a touch of mayhem . . . This is a good book for beginning readers, in the same vein as "The Cat in the Hat" and "The Cat in the Hat Comes Back," It will likely spark a new rhyming nation of happy youngsters, some of whom will grow up to write their generation's outrageously funny advertising jingles . . . Any beginning reader will find it charmingly slapstick and fun." --Armchair Interviews


Praise for "The Cat on the Mat is Flat":

"Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor . . . Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages." --"School Library Journal""Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse . . . Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor." --"Publishers Weekly""Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals." --The Excelsior File (blog)"Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's "Happy Hockey Family,"" --"Kirkus Reviews""This collection of stories is fun albeit with a touch of mayhem . . . This is a good book for beginning readers, in the same vein as "The Cat in the Hat" and "The Cat in the Hat Comes Back," It will likely spark a new rhyming nation of happy youngsters, some of whom will grow up to write their generation's outrageously funny advertising jingles . . . Any beginning reader will find it charmingly slapstick and fun." --Armchair Interviews


"Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse. . . . Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor."-Publishers Weekly
"Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor. . . . Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages."-School Library Journal "Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's HAPPY HOCKEY FAMILY."-Kirkus Reviews "Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey
"Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse. . . . Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor."--Publishers Weekly
"Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor. . . . Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages."--School Library Journal "Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's HAPPY HOCKEY FAMILY."--Kirkus Reviews "Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of cand

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top