COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Britannia
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Simon Scarrow is a Sunday Times No. 1 bestselling author. His many successful books include his Eagles of the Empire novels featuring Roman soldiers Macro and Cato, most recently TRAITORS OF ROME, THE BLOOD OF ROME, DAY OF THE CAESARS, INVICTUS and BRITANNIA, as well as HEARTS OF STONE, set in Greece during the Second World War, SWORD AND SCIMITAR, about the 1565 Siege of Malta, and a quartet about Wellington and Napoleon including the No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller THE FIELDS OF DEATH. He is the author with T. J. Andrews of the bestselling novels ARENA, INVADER and PIRATA. Find out more at www.simonscarrow.co.uk and on Facebook /officialsimonscarrow and Twitter @SimonScarrow

Reviews

A new book in Simon Scarrow's long-running series about the Roman army is always a joy... It is heartening for fans of Cato and Macro that their adventures remain as lively as ever -- Antonia Senior * The Times *
Fourteen books in and he manages to make the series fresh again, a new depth to Macro and Cato, a new edge to the Roman world and conflicts in Britannia, all achieved with style and a simply splendid plot line. Highly recommended * Parmenion Books *
Britannia ... among the very best and quite possibly my favourite. From the opening chapter, Scarrow plunges us deep into a place that is as dangerous as it is atmospheric, the winter creeping in, beset by the hostility of the people who live in these hills... The action and drama never let up from first to last pages... There is one scene in particular involving Cato and boats during a great storm that is absolutely fantastic, brilliantly written and imagined * Winternights Blog *
Praise for Simon's earlier novels 'A good, uncomplicated, rip-roaring read * Mail on Sunday *
I don't need this kind of competition -- Bernard Cornwell
Simon Scarrow's stories of Roman military action in Britain have gathered quite a fan club and it's not hard to see why... Scarrow is highly skilled at describing violent action... for those who like their historical fiction to include plenty of bloody thrills and spills * Living History *
An engrossing storyline, full of teeth-clenching battles, political machinations, treachery, honour, love and death...More please! -- Elizabeth Chadwick
Tremendous * Daily Express *
Scarrow's rank with the best * Independent *
Scarrow's engaging pair of heroes... top stuff * Daily Telegraph *
What an amazing roller-coaster of a ride... this book is fantastic... So startlingly good, so utterly readable - and so very, very courageous -- Manda Scott
Gripping and moving story about the war and the protagonists' fractured friendships... [Scarrow's] sense of plot and pace is strong * The Times *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top