Free Shipping to Singapore

Singapore's Best Prices on the Biggest Range of Products

Bicycles and Blackberries
By

Rating
CAN A GOOD HEART KEEP A MISCHIEVOUS GIRL OUT OF TROUBLE? The East End, 1939. When war comes to London, the bright and irrepressible Georgia Smith is torn from her tight-knit family and packed off as an evacuee. She moves in with Phoebe Bliss, whose cheerful smile masks a dark past that ten year-old Georgia couldn't possibly understand. Georgia soon finds herself involved in the small town's complicated love lives. But some secrets aren't meant for little girls, and she finds herself in danger. Can a good heart keep a mischievous girl out of trouble? For fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries, Bicycles and Blackberries is a heart-warming novel from the Queen of family saga, Sheila Newberry. 'So gloriously nostalgic . . . a perfect example of her talent.' Maureen Lee, bestselling author of The Seven Streets of Liverpool 'Like having dinner with your mother in her warm and cosy kitchen.' Diane Allen, bestselling author of For the Sake of Her Family
Product Details

Promotional Information

Evacuees and women of ill repute - a heart-warming novel from 'the queen of family saga'

About the Author

Sheila Newberry was born in Suffolk and spent a lot of time there both before and during the war. She wrote her first 'book' before she was ten - all sixty pages of it - in purple ink. Her family has certainly been her inspiration and she has been published most of her adult life. She spent forty years living in Kent with her husband John on a smallholding, and has nine children and twenty-two lively grandchildren. They retired back to Suffolk where Sheila still lives today.

Reviews

A lovely read that I won't forget in a hurry * Echoes in an Empty Room * The cover page is beautiful. The characters are complicated but still simple when they are read about. The stroy moves fast. The language is very simple. The book gives a good taste of life during the war. It is almost nostalgic (...) I am glad I agreed to read and review the book. It is definitely a new type of literature for me * Meraki Post *

Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top