COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

And the Band Played On
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

"A heroic work of journalism on what must rank as one of the foremost catastrophes of modern history."--"The New York Times"
"Stunning . . . An impressively researched and richly detailed narrative."--"Time"
"Rivals in power and intensity, and in the brilliance of its reporting and writing, Truman Capote's In Cold Blood."--"The Boston Globe"
"A monumental history."--"The Washington Post Book World"
"The most thorough, comprehensive exploration of the AIDS epidemic to date . . . It is fascinating, frightening, and essential reading."--"San Francisco Sentinel"
"A textbook on how institutions work--or fail to work--in the face of such a threat."--"San Francisco Examiner"
"A lucid and stunning indictment of public policy toward the vicious disease . . . A valuable work of political history."--"Business Week"
"Shilts successfully weaves comprehensive investigative reporting and commercial page-turning pacing, political intrigue, and personal tragedy into a landma

Promotional Information

In 1981, the year when AIDS came to international attention, Randy Shilts was employed by 'The San Francisco Chronicle' as the first openly gay journalist dealing with gay issues. He quickly devoted himself to reporting on the developing epidemic, trying to understand the cultural, medical and political impact of the disease on the gay community and United States society as a whole.

About the Author

Randy Shilts saw himself as a literary journalist in the tradition of Norman Mailer and Truman Capote and was a pioneering voice in raising awareness of gay civil rights issues, as well as the AIDS crisis, and was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Lesbian and Gay Journalists' Association in 1993. He found that he was HIV positive in 1987 and died in 1994. He also wrote The Mayor of Castro Street, a biography of Harvey Milk.

Reviews

Rivals in power and intensity, and in the brilliance of its reporting and writing, Truman Capote's In Cold Blood. * Boston Globe *
Stunning... An impressively researched and richly detailed narrative. * Time *
A heroic work of journalism on what must rank as one of the foremost catastrophes of modern history. * New York Times *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top